PDA

View Full Version : My computer wont access certain websites suddenly!

pinkyminx
2012-01-27, 22:13
I really hope you can help, not sure where to turn. For the last month or so my laptop has refused to open certain website, including bbc.co.uk, tripadvisor.co.uk, hmrc.co.uk, and it wont let me pay for anything online. Also I can't connect to iTunes. I'm not very technically savvy so no idea how to correct this. I've fun a full Kapersky scan and 'no threats detected'. I tried rebooting my laptop to a backup from just over a month ago and those websites will then work for a few days, before it goes back again. Can anyone help?! Thanks in advance.

tashi
2012-01-27, 22:23
Hello pinkyminx,

Which browser/s do you use and what is the operating system.

Aside from Kaspersky do you have other security software installed?

Best regards, :)

pinkyminx
2012-01-27, 22:26
Hello, I'm using Windows 7 and usually use Internet Explorer but have also downloaded Chrome, in case it was just IE. I did have Spybot but I admit that in my frenzy of trying to work out what was changing my settings, I uninstalled it!! I thought maybe it had got a bit overzealous in the security settings or something. As I said, I'm afraid I'm a bit of a techno-retard....

tashi
2012-01-27, 22:32
Hi there,

Hello, I'm using Windows 7 and usually use Internet Explorer

Which version of Internet Explorer? :) You experience the same problems when using Chrome?

Do you use Win7's native firewall.

pinkyminx
2012-01-27, 23:00
Its Internet Explorer 9 and the exact same thing happens with Chrome. I'm assuming I do use Windows Firewall - I've never deactivated it. I'm the sort of person who buys a laptop, and starts using it. The only thing I did was buy Kaspersky. Other than that, all the settings are as they were when it was new.

tashi
2012-01-27, 23:40
Hello pinkyminx,