PDA

View Full Version : 711 rules??



kay1864
2005-10-25, 06:02
Hi all,

I've had SSD for over a year, and last time I ran it, it checked against 20,000+ rules, and took about 10 minutes.

Then lately I was encountering the "bad checksum" error when updating, so I decided to reinstall.

(sorry, I can't remember if I had v 1.3 or 1.4 before)

So I installed SSD 1.4, and now there are only 711 rules! Yeah, it runs in just a few seconds :) but I feel like I'm missing out on a lot of protection :confused:

Advice please!

md usa spybot fan
2005-10-25, 07:38
The scan count after the 2005-10-21 updates should be 30611 without usage tracks and 33210 with.

Go into Spybot > Mode > Advanced mode > Settings > File Sets. You should see a list like the one in the attachment to this post. Make sure that the list is complete.

If the list is complete and the quantities are correct, check everything except the last two items. The last two items are for Usage Tracks and are optional. I personally do not check for UsageTracks.

If the list is incomplete or the counts are incorrect, try downloading and executing the manual update spybotsd_includes.exe file. That file can be downloaded from:

Downloads Home of Spybot-S&D!
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/index.html

The items is:
Detection updates 2005-10-21 - product description
md5: md5: 03457D0EADEA2F3B26728EB232587F3B

This updates the detection rules. Only needed if you do not want to use the update function integrated into Spybot-S&D.

The direct link is:
http://www.spybotupdates.com/updates/files/spybotsd_includes.exe

After downloading and before executing the spybotsd_includes.exe file, exit Spybot. After executing it go back into Spybot > Mode > Advanced mode > Settings > File Sets and see if the list is complete.

kay1864
2005-10-25, 13:31
Yep, my list is the same as yours. *and* now the scan is showing "Running bot-check nn/30611" instead of nn/711 like it did before. Must have been the reboot.

Thanks md usa!