PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Registry Changes

Breezy
2006-10-29, 22:18
Hi - I'm a newbie technophobe who's just installed S-S&D. All's gone swimmingly and I have fixed all the reported threats except the following three:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Centre\AntiVirusDisableNotify!=dword:0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Centre\FirewallDisableNotify!=dword:0

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\wscvc\Start!=W=2

As these concern the registry I'm really worried that I may cause more problems than I'm fixing here. Would really be grateful for some sound advice from the learned audience out there. Do I "fix" these problems or leave them alone? Cheers :)

Zenobia
2006-10-29, 23:55
Please see here:
http://www.spybot.info/en/faq/46.html
Also,if you highlight the detection with your mouse,Spybot will give you a description after you click the gray bar over to the right.

Do you have anything like Norton Internet Security suite,etc. installed?

Breezy
2006-10-30, 10:14
Yes - I've got NAV 2006 and Norton Personal Firewall 2006 installed. I have not consciously changed anything other than to turn off the Win XP firewall as I believe this can conflict with Norton. Could this by the issue here? As I say, I'm not very technically competent when it comes to the inner workings of the PC - I just want it kept free of nasties! Really appreciate your help and guidance. What could be the implications if I choose to "fix the problem?" Thanks

Zenobia
2006-10-30, 11:06
No,it's good for you to have the Windows XP firewall turned off,where you have the Norton Firewall.

You might be getting those detections if you chose to let Norton's Protection Center handle the type of things that Windows Security Center did,perhaps when you were installing Norton.I believe Norton asks you when you're installing.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Centre\AntiVirusDisableNotify!=dword:0
From the bottom part of Spybot's descriptions: