PDA

View Full Version : First Time Posting...

Paladin
2006-12-15, 18:55
If I'm posting this in the wrong section, please forgive me as I'm new at this. I was experiencing a 'redirecting' problem on Internet Explorer (IE). Each time I Googled a name of an individual, and attempted to read their bio on Wikipedia, I was being redirected (or possibly hi-jacked) to another, unintended web-site. I was on the telephone 3 consecutive days with technicians at CA; each time they resolved the problem, it returned the following day. And, I make it a point not to frequent any unsavory or questionable web-sites only frequenting Yahoo, Google, Wikipedia and perhaps PokerStars.

One technician at my ISP highly recommended that I use FoxFire, exclusively which I do. And, I've also noticed that the redirecting problem has not returned because I occasionally check it with IE. I was advised by a technician at PokerStars that I have a rootkit problem. He highly recommended I visit this web-site.

I read a thread or 2 with what appeared to be a similar problem and the gentleman who gave advice was PSKelley. I followed a few of his recommendations by installing Spyware Doctor. This scanner found 257 infected files however I was unable to remove them because the form that they use was cut in half as I use a double monitor.

I also installed Spybot and it said that I had 63 infected files which it eliminated, entirely. I ran the Fixwareout software and was advised to post the report:

Fixwareout
Last edited 12/06/2006
Post this report in the forums please

Reg Entries that were deleted

Microsoft (R) Windows Script Host Version 5.6
Random Runs removed from HKLM

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL FILES FOUND BY THIS METHOD ARE NOT BAD FILES, There WILL be legitimate FILES LISTED. IF YOU ARE UNSURE OF WHAT IT IS LEAVE THEM ALONE.

»»»»» Search by size and names...

»»»»» Misc files

»»»»»
Search five digit cs, dm and jb files
This WILL/CAN also list Legit Files, Submit them at Virustotal