Thread: tea timer will not stay on.

Default tea timer will not stay on.

i'm new to spybot and to posting questions anywhere. someone who knows spybot well told me i should turn tea timer on. i have done that but it does not stay on. if i go to somewhere else in spybot and then come back to the resident section, the checkmark for tea timer is gone and it is off. can someone help me?

Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar

phyllis:

When you go into Spybot > Mode > Advanced Mode > Tools > Resident, the checkmark on the following item (or lack of a checkmark) indicates presents (or absents) the startup entry for "Teatimer.exe":
    • Resident "TeaTimer" (Protection of over-all system settings) Active.

Checking that entry (if unchecked) should:
    1. Start "Teatimer.exe".
    2. Add a startup entry for "Teatimer.exe" to the registry as follows:

Code:
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "SpybotSD TeaTimer"="C:\\Program Files\\Spybot - Search & Destroy\\TeaTimer.exe"
    Unhecking that entry (if checked) should:
    1. Terminate "Teatimer.exe".
    2. Remove the startup entry for "Teatimer.exe".

Is Teatimer.exe actually running?
    • Look for "Teatimer.exe" in Windows Task Manager. To open Windows Task Manager, right-click an empty space on the taskbar, and then click Task Manager. Click on the Processes tab and look for "Teatimer.exe". Note if you click on the "Image Name" column title the list of processes will be sorted in "Image Name" order which may make looking for "Teatimer.exe" easier.
      1. If "Teatimer.exe" is not running:
        • Using Windows Explorer, navigate to the following folder and make sure that "Teatimer.exe" exists:
          • C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy
        • If it does not exist that would appear to be the problem.
        • If it exists:
          • Double click on TeaTimer.exe to see if it will start.
      2. If "Teatimer.exe" is running: