Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: [Solved] Exclude list

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default [Solved] Exclude list

    Hello,

    i have now download version 1.5.1.14 :

    as i said yesterday the language is ok
    but ..

    i have again the problem from the exclude list. I exclude some update (english version from the help, ..) and the program retain it not

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    Could you provide a link to the previous post about it? Can't find it

    Also, what about the usual details, e.g. Windows version?

    Also, after adding an entry to the exclude list, could you open C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Spybot - Search & Destroy\Excludes\UpdateDL.sbe in notepad or another text editor, and let me know whether the entry is listed there? You might also try to monitor when it vanishes there, and check if you're even allowed to write to that file.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hello,

    1) http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=15983 for the language this is ok thanks

    2) for the exclude liste

    XP sp2
    UpdateDL.sbe is empty !!

    i have also speak over this problem http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=15241 but it was resolved but it come now again ??

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    What has the first one to do with this?

    Well, again: please try to open the file in notepad or similar, type something and try to save, to determine whether you have write access to that file or not.

    This file gets saved immediatel every time you click the 'add' or 'remove' context menu items, so if it stays empty, that sounds a lot like a permissions problem.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    1) the first one is the response to your question because in my first post i toke about 2 things

    - the multi language and now it is ok
    - and the problem we are now taking about the exclude list

    2) i have acces to write to this file and i can insert something in it, but when i click 2 times upon this file it open spybot and when i open this file after that the file is empty

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hello,

    some corrections of orthography ...

    1) the first one is the answer to your question because in my first post i speak about 2 things :

    - the multi language : but now it is ok
    - and the problem about which one speaks now : the exclude list

    2) for the exclude list : i have write acces to that file, but when i click 2 times upon this file it open spybot and when i open this file, after that, the file is empty again. I believe that spybot cleans that file at the opening

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hello,

    I made tests. When I exclude items the file (UpdateDL.sbe ) is well filled but when I leave spybot it is cleaned.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hello,

    someone else have the same problem ?

  9. #9
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    Hmmmm thanks for the details!

    Might be that there (your post from 23rd) is the problem - a conflict with both Spybot-S&D itself and SDUpdate dealing with the file! Spybot-S&D is able to use the old update function as a fallback if the external updater should get corrupted, so it opens and saves the same file. And at the same time, the mechanism that prevents that some malware could just put necessary updates on the ignore/exclude list, probably undoes the change here.

    Could you try to test the updater by starting it from the Start menu, with Spybot-S&D closed the whole time? That should work, and if so (it does here), the problem has been found and will be fixed in the final
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Hello,

    thanks for the answer.

    what do you mean with starting from the start menu with Spybot-S&D closed the whole time?

    i have try with the update on the left and with the update in the middle and in both case it's wrong. But i think that's not that i must do because S&D is open ...???

    i have version 1.5.1.14.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •