Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Cannot immunize 6370 Global (Hosts)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default Cannot immunize 6370 Global (Hosts)

    Why I Cannot immunize 6370 Global (Hosts) ?

    How could immunize those non protected items?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Are you getting any messages?

    If not what happens if you go into Spybot > Mode > Advanced Mode > Tools > Hosts file > and then click on the "Add Spybot S&D hosts list" button?

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    thx for answer

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bers99 View Post
    thx for answer
    ???

    bers99:

    In response to passegua's query, I asked a couple of questions. If this helped you resolve a similar problem, please share what you discovered. Your feedback may help others.

    Regards,
    md usa spybot fan

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by md usa spybot fan View Post
    Are you getting any messages?

    If not what happens if you go into Spybot > Mode > Advanced Mode > Tools > Hosts file > and then click on the "Add Spybot S&D hosts list" button?
    If I do what you suggest I get an Error message:
    "Cannot create file "C:\WINDOWS\System32\driver\etc\hosts". Accesso negato

    And now? Thanks.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I solved!

    I temporarly shut off Zonealarm and then I could use your suggestion, I could immunize all objects!

    Probably Zonealarm keep control of host file?

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    Yes, that sounds like ZoneAlarm tries to protect the file as well.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    23

    Default

    In zoon alarm if you go to Firewall on the left and then the main tab in the upper right then go down to the advance button and click on it your see under General setting "Lock Hosts file".
    It works too and locks the hosts file down and I have not found any thing that has gotten tru to it to change the hosts file.
    I diid test years ago too with Spybot, Adawre, CWShredder where they were finding things in the hosts file that were false.
    I had WinPatrol Plus and it locks the hosts file too as I think spybot does.
    But with the hosts file locked and using Spybot, Adawre, CWShredder things were still deleted from the hosts file. Spybot deleted some and then it want to reboot and it would delete more but it never cleaned up all it said that needed clean.
    Then doing the same test using the zone alarm to lock the hosts file nothing was able to get to the hosts file so zone alarm was the only thing that really keep the hosts file locked in the test I did.
    Got it all posted some place over at here.
    Host file change and Firewall software

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Solution

    If you use Zonealarm and you have set it to lock your local host file then Spybot can't immunize the globalhost.
    If you want Spybot to immunize it you only have to temporarily unlock the host file via the "firewall" -> "advanced" tab. After complete immunization you can lock the host file again.
    (thanks to sandra from the spybot team)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •