Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 113

Thread: Firewalls - Any Advice?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Firewalls - Any Advice?

    Do you experts have any advice about firewalls. I had a nasty infection(s) and, after solving my problem with the help of Steamwiz, I got my computer clean after a long and laborious process for both of us.

    After fixing the problem, I installed Zone Alarm as suggested in Tony Klein's post. Now, I've been doing a little research and it seems that a hardware firewall is recommended over a softwall firewall, particularly for protection of outgoing information.

    I was able to acquire a D-LInk DI-704P, and I have been trying to set it up. I've put a lot of time into it and it just seems so complicated! I'm wondering if you would recommend that I keep on plugging with that or should I look into buying a newer one - maybe the Alpha Shield -- looking like it is more novice-friendly.....???

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,491

    Default

    Hi there.

    I don't use Zone Alarm myself, (although many do like it a lot), as I find it too bloated for my taste.

    Comodo's free firewall is not hard to configure.

    --------------------------------------
    Edit: I no longer use Comodo.
    --------------------------------------

    Note: The Comodo Firewall download is now available only as part of a suite, which includes Comodo Firewall Pro and also Comodo Antivirus.
    During the install you will be offered options:
    Comodo Internet Security comes with a collection of vital security needs for your PC. Please select products you wish to install or unselect products you wish to uninstall in order to continue.

    First you will see:
    Install Comodo AntiVirus.
    Install Comodo Firewall.

    You may wish to uncheck during installation, "Install Comodo SafeSurf..", "Make Comodo my default search provider" and "Make Comodo Search my homepage", and install the firewall ONLY.

    ---------------------------------------

    If you want to look into hardware though, I suggest you take a look here: dslreports.

    Hope that helps.
    Last edited by tashi; 2009-10-25 at 08:04. Reason: Edit
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    hi dancingqueen,

    nothing wrong with using both a hardware and software firewall. do you need both? depends on your computing habits. just about any router has some kind of rudimentary firewall built in to it. Its the software firewall (ZA) that provides the out going prompts.

    your router shouldnt be that difficult to set up. you are following the setup guide or install wizard? once setup you can forget about it other than a occasional reboot.

    shelf life
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Thanks for the Advice....

    However, the one thing I'll say about Comodo, which I have installed - twice now, actually - because the first time I installed it, it started sending me all of these messages right away - and I didn't know how to respond to them. Such as: C/Windows/explorer.exe has tried to use svchost.exe through OLE automation, which can be used to hijack other applications. explorer,exe might be using svchost.exe to access the internet.

    The first time, I denied everything I saw, mainly out of fear of allowing anything dangerous....and then I couldn't get on Skype or, more importantly, the Internet.

    Another message I got was: Generic host process for Win32 services is trying to connect to the internet. What would you like to do? Once again, the second time, I said "allow" -- basically to everything that poped up right after I installed it. NOw, the internet and Skype both seem to work. But the shield for Windows Securtiy is still red. Is that because it doesn't recognice Comodo and thinks my computer is at risk with no firewall?

    Eeekkk! I hate to mess up my recently cleaned computer but I really want a firewall too! If I can just get it right, I'm sure it will help a lot.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Thanks for the hardware advice as well...

    I'm going to figure out this software (Comodo) one before I tackle the hardware one. I will say that I have acquired (at a low price) a used D-LInk DI-704P. Do you consider it a viable option?

  6. #6
    Emeritus
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    @localhost
    Posts
    6,067

    Default

    hi dancingqueen,

    ive never used comodo. software firewalls can often flood the user with all kinds of prompts. just allowing all traffic or clicking thru the prompts wont do you any good if you happen to have a trojan on your computer. questioning it is good-- if you are malware free alittle experimenting might help. deny processes and make sure you still have functionality like web browsing, email, program updates etc. better yet visit the comodo firewall forum and poke around the FAQ and topics. most likely you will find the answer there.
    yes, that d-link router would add a good layer of protection for your over all security.
    Last edited by tashi; 2007-12-19 at 22:38. Reason: Pinned
    How Can I Reduce My Risk?

  7. #7
    Senior Member honda12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682

    Default

    I recommend comodo's free firewall. Zonealarm's firewall used to be highly recommended, but now it has become too bloated for the average user.

    The paid version is good, but comodo's free version is the best.
    -honda12

  8. #8
    Junior Member Hamburger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ypsilanti
    Posts
    1

    Smile firewall

    AVG includes its own firewall (if you have the professional version).

    To use it as the default, you should turn off the Windows Firewall in Control Panel.

  9. #9
    Senior Member honda12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682

    Thumbs up Good tip

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamburger View Post
    AVG includes its own firewall (if you have the professional version).

    To use it as the default, you should turn off the Windows Firewall in Control Panel.
    That's a good tip in general, Hamburger.

    When installing a new software firewall, make sure you turn off Windows firewall to avoid conflicts.
    -honda12

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1

    Smile firewall

    To all: If I were a spybot user i would just set myself up as a regular user, set msie to cookies blocked and security to all the highest. Use mozilla and turn off cookies and java and just set exceptions to where you login only. Import bookmarks only as a file. Forget about future windows patches. Copy over all your files from a usb drive if resintllaing windows. Install your programs all at once as an administrator bring your files over and update spybot once a week or every two weeks from there. Use free zone labs and on some machines it teatimer fails to start it can be put in /local machine/ instead of just local user (logged in as admin). Or you can run a bat file with "wait". With this you dont need avg or norton av at all and you run virus free just like i do now. Get a simple wireless router wgr14 so your wife/girlfriend can use a macbook in the kitchen. Stay off useless sites like iwon.com if you go there. Remember spybot will block claria, download.net and a few others off of ebay and free sites like tripod. But not if your an admin no matter what you are running unless you want to pay big bucks to spysweeper and have it lock your desktop. Yes we can run win machines like linux boxes day in and day out and completely stop paying retired bill gates money. All of this reduces the computer work down to getting a spybot update every so often. Save your money.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •