Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: can I get a recomendation for anti-virus software?

Default can I get a recomendation for anti-virus software?

Hey wiser folks, can I get a recomendation for anti-spyware software. I am wondering what does what and how well. Do I even need it if I have spybot, adaware and a firewall? Feel free to wax eloquent as I am a newbie to this stuff. Thanks
    Jeremy
    Last edited by tashi; 2006-02-06 at 20:45. Reason: Moved topic from the Tavern to main forum

Default some anti-spyware software

Read your post-not sure if you are looking for anti-virus or anti-spyware. I am not an expert, but I do have a few suggestions, based upon my reading here and at other sites.

If you do not have anti-virus, I think you will need it-there are several good anti-virus programs-including free ones-but I am not experienced enough to tell you which one is best.

I would suggest these 3 freeware programs which offer real time protection(prevent spyware from being installed)
    WinPatrol, SpywareBlaster and Spyware Guard
    These products are well known and widely used.

Also Microsoft Anit-Spyware beta (also free right now) offers real time protection as well as scanning for spyware infections.

Another free product is CWShredder-which removes CoolWebSearch.

I have all of these(including Spybot and Adaware-and some paid programs) and they do not conflict-except that Adaware plus, with Ad-watch does have some initial small conflicts.

There is some overlapping in coverage between these, but between them you will be well covered against spyware.

I would also suggest you look at the Spyware Warrior site-they have info and advice about about these issues as well as listings of "anti-spyware" to stay away from.

Hope this helps.

If you do not have anti-virus, I think you will need it-there are several good anti-virus programs-including free ones
    There's a couple of the free antivirus programs listed here(down at number 10.):