Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: manual VS auto scan II

  1. #1
    Member boazboaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default manual VS auto scan II

    Hi again
    =========
    Is there any diffrence between the manual and auto (Task Scheduler) spybot running ??
    The manual spybot is running with no problem.
    The Auto spybot seems to be much longer and about 50% doesnt get to the end of the scan properlly.

    scan time man : 8 min
    scan time auto : 20 min

    Thanks
    Boaz Pasternak.
    Last edited by boazboaz; 2006-02-07 at 16:35.

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    The Auto spybot seems to be much longer…
    What parameters are you running it with?

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Member boazboaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default parameters ...

    In the task sched the options are:
    "C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYBOT - SEARCH & DESTROY\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOFIX /AUTOCLOSE

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    Is there any diffrence between the manual and auto (Task Scheduler) spybot running ??
    The displays while running a manual "Check for problems" vs. a command line /AUTOCHECK are different.

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    The Auto spybot seems to be much longer …
    Manual runs of Spybot:
    • Manually started scan (ran minimized) - 05:22
    • Manually started scan (ran visible) - 05:16

    I normally do not run Spybot on a scheduled basis. To simulate a scheduled run, I ran Spybot from a command line using the following two set of parameters:
    • "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE
    • "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE /TASKBARHIDE

    The running times:
    • Comand line scan (without /TASKBARHIDE) - 08:26
    • Comand line scan (with /TASKBARHIDE) - 05:15

    Running without the /TASKBARHIDE parameter appears to significantly increase the time it take to run a scan. Try adding the /TASKBARHIDE parameter and see if your run time decrease.

    *****************

    Can you explain what you mean by the following:

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    … and about 50% doesnt get to the end of the scan properlly.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  5. #5
    Member boazboaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Thank you for the respond...

    The answers:
    * About "and about 50% doesnt get to the end of the scan properlly."
    in 50% of the auto runnings the computer get stucked.
    * Running the "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE /TASKBARHIDE
    commamd didn't change the time.
    * You said that the displays while running a manual "Check for problems" vs. a command line /AUTOCHECK are different. whats the diffrecne??

    Any Idea ????
    Last edited by boazboaz; 2006-02-08 at 10:03.

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    * About "and about 50% doesnt get to the end of the scan properlly."
    in 50% of the auto runnings the computer get stucked.
    When you were running without /TASKBARHIDE, where was the scan stopping? Is a randum place or at the same place each time?

    Were you getting any detections and is that were it was stopping? Since you were using /AUTOFIX without /TASKBARHIDE, Spybot will ask if you want to fix the problems found.

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    * Running the "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE /TASKBARHIDE
    commamd didn't change the time.
    As you can see it makes a big difference on my system.

    Quote Originally Posted by boazboaz
    * You said that the displays while running a manual "Check for problems" vs. a command line /AUTOCHECK are different. whats the diffrecne??
    Compare the two. You can see the difference.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  7. #7
    Member boazboaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default Cont.

    Hi & thanks again...

    With the TASKBARHIDE (on sched tasks) the scan didn't stopped but it took again very long time 21 min (manual = 8 min).

    No detections are found beacuse I'm running the test one after the other.

    I do not see a big difference on my system with/without TASKBARHIDE.

    "Check for problems" vs. a command line /AUTOCHECK are different from my point of view only with the diffrent screen and seems that the manuall screen takes more resources but it works faster.
    In "idle" state the Resource Meter are :

    System Resources: 52% free
    User Resources: 52% free
    GDI Resources: 67% free

    I do not think its a display issue, Is threre a way to see the proccess (not the display issue) ??
    Any more ideas ???

    Thanks again, Boaz.

    last minute extra data:
    I tried running in SAFE MODE.

    Manual run = 7 min.

    Run ""C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE /AUTOFIX" = 19 Min.

    Run ""C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SpybotSD.exe" /AUTOCHECK /AUTOCLOSE /TASKBARHIDE"
    Fail due to low resources message.
    Last edited by boazboaz; 2006-02-09 at 10:59.

  8. #8
    Member boazboaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    37

    Default The News

    after setting "Immunize on program start if program has been updated" [Settings->Settings->Automation->Program Start] the procces run with Scheduled Task in 15 mins (with /AUTOCHECK /AUTOFIX /AUTOCLOSE)!!!

    Much better then the 21 mins.

    Could you see any othere Settings that should be verified??

    I would like to close this issue now and re open it after some new test...
    Last edited by boazboaz; 2006-02-12 at 10:04.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •