Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Where do i find this tool in Spybot

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default Where do i find this tool in Spybot

    i have downloaded the update from spybot but can not find an option in the sbybot interface to run this tool?

    Am i being a complete idiot? do i need to download something additionally?

    Cheers,
    Dave

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    southdave:

    Spybot-S&D now has some rootkit scans built in to its "Check for problems". However, the tool referred to in the this forum (RootAlyzer) is a separate tool and can be downloaded from the link in the first post in this thread:

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4

    Cool It's a brilliant tool

    Hi guys.
    I think RootAlyzer is a great tool - I myself have only just heard about Rootkits and how dangerous they are.

    But to quote PepiMK from the thread mentioned above:

    Spybot-S&D usually detects threats in our database only; RootAlyzer just shows any things it identified as hidden, without relating them to known malware. So you could use RootAlyzer to detect even rootkits that are not known yet; but one of the new plugins for Spybot-S&D includes kind of a rootkit heuristics (which is not as generic though).

    In summary: use RootAlyzer if Spybot-S&D hasn't found the culprit and you're suspecting an unlisted malware.


    Great job, Spybot team!

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    12

    Default

    cheers for the quick response, i have downloaded the seperate file as well now.

    Thanks for your help.

    Dave

  5. #5
    Senior Member LoneLurker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Texas, USofA
    Posts
    109

    Default Will there ever be any added features?

    Wondering if we will ever be able to save the list that is created in the 'DeepScan' part of 'RootAlyzer'? When first run and several since even in the 'DeepScan' nothing was found, now the list is eleven and a ~quarter pages long. Nothing is found in the 'QuickScan' portion.

    My sig is as up-to-date as possible just not all features are list just those most important.

    Thank you for reading my poster toastie,
    LoneLurker"LoneWanderer""Adults are obsolete children. Dr. Seuss
    Win7 Pro SP1 x64;FireFox V. current: SBS&D V. current; WinPatrol, WinPrivacy, WinAntiRansom

  6. #6
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    When the scan is finished, a "Logs" page will appear. Granted, I maybe should add another, more "plain text" log type, but at least it helps store the results, though you would have to wait for the next release to see the detail column filled in there as well. That one will need only a bit more testing of the ACL detection stuff, I'll probably prepare a bunch of smaller updates for various apps later this week (see our bugtracker section). Meanwhile, just being curious, what exactly is the type of these many entries (Details column)?

    (edit: see this link for the bugtracker for RootAlyzer, including the latest changes)
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •