Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Minimize to Tray

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Minimize to Tray

    Hi. I've been using Spybot for ages and it's a great program. There is a feature I would love to see in a future release. (i'm sorry if it is already in, but after poking around in the advanced settings i couldn't find one). I would love to see a 'Minimize to tray' option, so that it dosn't take up my taskbar while Spybot is running. I would have added a tracker but i wasn't completely sure how, so I added here as the help said.

    Thanks for a great program.

  2. #2
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    What do you mean when you say you want Spybot-SD to minimized? You can minimize, maximize, or close the main window of Spybot-SD. Simple. Say like you would like to minimize Spybot-SD during a scan... you would just click the "dashed" button on the upper-right corner of the window.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Please use the following shortcuts to solve the problem:
    to maximize - press Windows Hotkey + m
    to minimize - press Windows Hotkey + shift + m

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    sorry, it seems i didn't make myself clear. You can minimize the program, however it still shows on the task bar. Some programs have an option so that when you minimize, the taskbar section disappears and only an icon in the 'Tray' stays. This is what I would like to see!

  5. #5
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    It seems that Spybot-SD does not have the function. But I would like to ask why would you even need that function for? It is because you have too many programs cluttered on your taskbar?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    It is because you have too many programs cluttered on your taskbar?
    pretty much. I just don't like a clustered task bar. I would prefere for it to be an icon in the system tray. More convienient in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Hello, some_guy. Ah... well Spybot-SD does not offer that function... so you'll just have to live with its window on your taskbar . Btw, the taskbar is set to group similar programs running into one tab if you have too many windows open.

  8. #8
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,392

    Default

    I used to have an app that could minimize any program to the Notification Area/system tray.I can't really recall what it was called,but after searching I think it *may have* been this one,though I'm not 100% certain:
    http://www.abstractpath.com/powermenu/

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    I used to have an app that could minimize any program to the Notification Area/system tray.I can't really recall what it was called,but after searching I think it *may have* been this one,though I'm not 100% certain:
    http://www.abstractpath.com/powermenu/
    thanks a lot! Any idea on whether this could be implimented?

  10. #10
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,392

    Default

    You're welcome.
    I have no idea,but I see a suggestions sticky thread in the beta forum.You could always post there,and ask if there's any chance for a minimize to systemtray/notification area option for any Spybot versions in the future.
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=107&page=3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •