Thread: Problem w/wireless connection after inst AVG

Default Problem w/wireless connection after inst AVG

So I just installed the latest AVG 8.0. Spybot S&D came up with a message just as the system was rebooting, so I think it changed the registry or something. There was no way I could stop the reboot process in time. So NOW, while my wireless connection is showing it is connected with a good signal, there is some type of error keeping it from connecting. I'm connected via cable modem now). I can't check email or browse the Internet.

I also did a system restore to one day last week, but am still encountering the problem. I'm 100% sure it is related to AVG or Spybot... and am leaning heavily towards Spybot, because I saw the warning message briefly before the system rebooted.

Anyway to get in the registry and see what changes were made and when so that I can delete them? I'm not a computer expert, but I'm not ignorant either. I don't want to do more damage than I've already done here.

Thanks!

Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar

dioje777:

What version of Spybot are you running (Spybot » Help » About)?

Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

1.5.1.15 1/9/2008

Thanks!

Of course, something I haven't tried is an uninstall of the wireless card software on my computer, and do a fresh install. Thing is, I can capture several of my neighbors signals on my card and run the Internet now. But the strong signal I was on when the problem occurred will not work. I'm thinking S&D is blocking it somehow.

Will S&D "remember" my card, or will it create a new registry item for it when I re-install it?

Edit: I also uninstalled AVG 8.0, and did a fresh re-install. There were no error messages this time, but my strong signal will still not work (although it is showing it is connected).

Thanks!