Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Spybot 1.5 not installing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default Spybot 1.5 not installing

    My spybot wont install I get the message:

    Error sending request
    The server name or address could not be resolved

    What does this mean and how can I fix it?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sneakiness View Post
    My spybot wont install I get the message:

    Error sending request
    The server name or address could not be resolved

    What does this mean and how can I fix it?
    Get rid of 1.5 and SSD completly until they work their problems out with Symantec, SpySweeper and Zone Alarm.

    There is some bad mojo here which are putting customers? at risk.

  3. #3
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,579

    Default

    (@b4dawn)

    Why not post something constructive?
    You might notice that Symantec only more than a full year after agreeing on something finally even worked out THEIR problems. Don't know about any problems with the others, and neither about your mental problems

    @Sneakiness: how about some more information? When exactly do you get this error message? When downloading the installer, immediately when starting the installation, or at the end of the installation?
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    60

    Default

    I would add that I went through the recent Spybot beta-test period, then installed Spybot 1.5.1 and, a few days ago, 1.5.1.16.

    Meanwhile, I always had Spy Sweeper installed and running, with the single exception of its Email Attachments Shield (as that had caused a few problems with other programs.) Not once did I have any interference between Spybot and Spy Sweeper.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Sneakiness View Post
    My spybot wont install I get the message:

    Error sending request
    The server name or address could not be resolved

    What does this mean and how can I fix it?
    When you install Spybot S&D, the option to "Download Updates Immediately" is selected by default. With this option selected, you need to be connected to the internet in order to complete the installation.
    If you are not connected to the internet, just clear the checkbox beside "Download Updates Immediately" and you should be able to install without issue.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    262

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    (@b4dawn)

    Why not post something constructive?
    You might notice that Symantec only more than a full year after agreeing on something finally even worked out THEIR problems. Don't know about any problems with the others, and neither about your mental problems

    @Sneakiness: how about some more information? When exactly do you get this error message? When downloading the installer, immediately when starting the installation, or at the end of the installation?
    you said it, PepiMK. geez what's the matter with that b4dawn guy? perhaps he needs to take a vacation, a really LONG vacation if he can't say anything "constructive"

    See this thread on resolving conflicts between Spybot and Zone Alarm:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=448

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by pmcaldararo View Post
    When you install Spybot S&D, the option to "Download Updates Immediately" is selected by default. With this option selected, you need to be connected to the internet in order to complete the installation.
    If you are not connected to the internet, just clear the checkbox beside "Download Updates Immediately" and you should be able to install without issue.

    Yes that works ok. (I was looking for a hint too ) But SSD won't check for problems, instead gives an error "You need to install detection updates first etc etc". So how can we do that if there's no internet? Is there a way to save the updates to a file, then transfer via disk of memory stick or whatever?
    (My main PC has a server hijack problem.)
    Perhaps I should start another thread with this question.

    Thanx. Pete.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Please download theupdate file on another computer, copy these to a CD or USB stick and then install and run it on the infected computer:
    Update file

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for such a quick response Sandra.
    After I posted, I was still looking for the answer on the forums, ( I had been checking for ages , as well as watching TV and eating toast and marmalade, by the by ).
    And eventually looked twice at the 'Downloads' page, which made me realise what a numpty I had been!

    Thanks again, and a happy new year to you.

    Pete.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    thanks
    you're welcome.
    and happy new year too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •