Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 86

Thread: Spybot-S&D 1.6, beta 1

  1. #11
    Senior Member nOInfectIOn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    257

    Default

    WOW... Big shot!

    scan-time decreased:
    - 161215 def/ tracks
    - XP, SP3
    - msconfig: everything enabled

    1.52: about 21 min
    1.6: 5:50 min...

  2. #12
    Senior Member djpailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Although the scan is faster, the programme is still sluggish, like when you open the programme itself, or when you immunize the database.

  3. #13
    Senior Member dj.turkmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    TURKEY/Ankara
    Posts
    139

    Default

    here it is: I know it is nothing important or not worthy to tell but as it is easy to fix i wanted you to know. I am using windowsxp with the default theme

    Last edited by dj.turkmaster; 2008-06-06 at 16:03.
    DOCTUS.ORG Turkish security forum

  4. #14
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,576

    Default

    @dj.turkmaster: Ah, I did expect something gone missing elsewhere somehow, sure, there it is easy to fix, already done, thanks

    @djpailo: well, the overall GUI replacement won't take place before 2.0. Search the forums for all the protests when we attempt to slim down anything in the "known" versions... for example the shredder discussions
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    2

    Default Real Time Protection

    Is th'r any plan of integrating a real time protection from S&D version 2

  6. #16
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,576

    Default

    Yes, "realer" time than TeaTimer
    Blocking files before they're executed etc.
    Also using the classification database of RunAlyzer as an advanced decision system. More efforts to improve that database in planing as well
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  7. #17
    Member Becky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    37

    Thumbs up I will test it on all my computers

    Hi Pepi. THANKS for your continuous improvements
    I just download the new version (beta) and I will test it on my old W98, the semi-old W2x and the XP-Sp2.
    I will tell you guys about my findings
    Ahh, I almost forgot, better late than never... I have notice a grate improvement on the memory utilization of Tea Timer (V1.5.2.0) !!
    Thanks guys!!!
    I assume that the correct or wise way to do it is:
    1 un-immunize all
    2 uninstall previous version
    3 install the new one
    The question is: How can I back-up or save the black/white lists of Tea Timer?

    Becky
    Last edited by Becky; 2008-06-06 at 19:31. Reason: Add one question
    Today I will learn something (and tell others about...)
    -XP SP3 4Ghz 4Gb
    -XP SP3 2Ghz 768Mb
    -W98 SE 500Mhz 500Mb
    All w/ZoneAlarm, Firefox, Spybot 1.6.2, Avast! 4.8 Home (Ex AVG 7.5)

  8. #18
    Senior Member djpailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    @dj.turkmaster: Ah, I did expect something gone missing elsewhere somehow, sure, there it is easy to fix, already done, thanks

    @djpailo: well, the overall GUI replacement won't take place before 2.0. Search the forums for all the protests when we attempt to slim down anything in the "known" versions... for example the shredder discussions
    Yup, I can certainly appreciate that. Well, its probably my five year old computer, but at least it hasn't ended up like the bloated ad-aware 2008.

  9. #19
    Member Zer0 Voltage's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Right behind you... BOO!
    Posts
    49

    Default

    I think I may have found a problem with the English.chm help file.

    Can someone please try to reproduce this:

    Open Spybot-S&D, click on Help (in the menu bar), and select Help.

    Once the help interface opens, click on the Search tab, enter something in the keyword field (I was trying "explorer"), and click on the "List Topics" button.

    For me, on two separate XP SP3 systems, this results in a permanent Spybot hang (both the help interface and the program). Nothing ever appears in the topics list, the mouse pointer stays an hourglass, and Windows reports the program is not responding. I have to manually force it closed - after which I get one of those error report prompts.

    On the same systems, this didn't happen with version 1.5.2.20.

    Anyone else see this?
    Last edited by Zer0 Voltage; 2008-06-07 at 06:14.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    perfect!

    the new beta reduces scanning time from 13 minutes to 4 minutes in vista x64 with core2quad q6600.

    will the new version of spybot will support multithread or multicore processor??

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •