Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Scan sort of stuck on Virtumonde.dll

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default Scan sort of stuck on Virtumonde.dll

    After applying today's updates, the scan seems to be stuck on Virtumonde.dll. The scan is advancing slowly, but it's been on Virtumonde.dll for a good 40 minutes.

    Anyone have any idea?

    Regards,
    Charles

  2. #2
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    I haven't done a scan yet... but I will this evening.

    Have you cleared the cache, temp. files, and cookies from your browsers? Have you defragmented your drive lately?

    Also, were there any entries detected?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    I haven't done a scan yet... but I will this evening.

    Have you cleared the cache, temp. files, and cookies from your browsers? Have you defragmented your drive lately?
    Not recently. I'll do that and see what happens. FYI, this is an old W2k station that is only used to evaluate software. It's image of C:, last created 2 years ago, is restored after each evaluation is completed.

    Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    Also, were there any entries detected?
    I'm still waiting for this scan to complete (3 hours now). Nothing has been found so far. Previous scans always completed normally with nothing found.

    Regards,
    Charles

  4. #4
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    Have you cleared the cache, temp. files, and cookies from your browsers? Have you defragmented your drive lately?
    Alright, first do that first.

    What I was thinking was to ignore the "entry" in Spybot. Thus, the scan will continue. If Virtuemonde was not detected on the computer, then I guessing that one ignore entry will do.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    Alright, first do that first.

    What I was thinking was to ignore the "entry" in Spybot. Thus, the scan will continue. If Virtuemonde was not detected on the computer, then I guessing that one ignore entry will do.
    OK. I've cleared all browser caches and ALL user temp folders. Same problem.
    The scan reaches around 13400 and then slows to a crawl.

  6. #6
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    If that won't do...

    Run Spybot-SD in ADVANCED MODE>SETTINGS>IGNORE PRODUCTS. Find the "Virtuemonde.dll" entry and tick it. Spybot will not detect it in future scans. See if this resolves it.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Problem does not happen on my old Win98 station or my XP notebook (both of which are actually used day-to-day).

    Regards,
    Charles

  8. #8
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesF View Post
    After applying today's updates, the scan seems to be stuck on Virtumonde.dll. The scan is advancing slowly, but it's been on Virtumonde.dll for a good 40 minutes.

    Anyone have any idea?

    Regards,
    Charles
    Well clarify which OS this problem is occurring on. Did you read my instructions in the previous post?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Scan finally completed sometime overnight on the W2K station. Nothing found.

    Regards,
    Charles

  10. #10
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    CharlesF:

    The scan for Virtumonde.dll does seem to take a significant portion of the overall scan time. Spybot 1.6, being beta tested now, greatly reduces the overall scan time and should help relieve the problem with the scan for Virtumonde.dll.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelĀ® PentiumĀ® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •