Thread: After installing new programs my internet now crashes.

Question After installing new programs my internet now crashes.

Hello, newbie here.

I installed Winpatrol and Mcafee site advisor 2 days ago, after which my internet constantly crashes, particularly if I open more than one tab. I have a feeling it's site advisor that was the problem, as it demanded many registry changes, most of which I allowed, then I thought there were too many and disallowed the last one. Anyway I uninstalled these two programs and my internet is still crashing. I have the latest version of spybot, Windows XP SP2 and IE7. Obviously I want to return to how it was 3 days ago (working properly.)

When I look at the black and white list it shows numerous recent allowed registry changes such as:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Browser Helper Objects....
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar...
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Translate Page into English=
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\&Google Search=
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Cached Snapshot of Page=
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt\Backward Links=

etc.

I've noticed Translate Page into English option is no longer available on my Google pages, but cached is.

The blocked registry changes page is blank, although I always tick remember this decision. Allowed processes and blocked processes are blank too.

Does uninstalling programs change the registry back to as before? If not, do you think it's these changes that are causing the crashes? If so how can I undo them?

Is there anything more I can do now to get internet explorer working properly?

I was thinking of maybe going to the XP system restore page (I haven't done registry backup on spybot) and restore to 3 days ago, or is that too drastic? Would that work anyway?