Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 59

Thread: spybot install

  1. #21
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,164

    Default

    Okay-doke.

    If you have time before leaving,you could temporarily shut down Zone Alarm for a short time,and try updating your programs.Let me know what happens as time allows,either now or then.This will help troubleshoot if ZA actually is the problem.Make sure you restart Zone Alarm after getting spywareblaster,etc. to check for updates.

    Have a great vacation.

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default spybot install

    Just missed your post Zenobia. Thanks so much for all that info and your time. Lot of helpful information and I will read it thoroughly. Like I said above, will be away for a couple of weeks after tomorrow and if problems persist, maybe I could pick up on this again then. Too bad I couldn't take my desktop along with me.

    Thanks so much again - so appreciated.

  3. #23
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,164

    Default

    You're welcome.

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default spybot install

    Hi again Zenobia:
    I shut down ZA and things are still not updating (same errors), sorry to say.
    The host file in ZA was not checked in.

    Thought I'd get back to you tonight - heck, it's only 2:00 am. and I'm starting to feel rather brain dead anyway.

    Many thanks again.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    586

    Smile

    Cimarron,

    There was a problem with early versions of Zone Alarm where they locked the host file regardless of whether this option was ticked or not.
    As far as I am aware the first version that fixed this problem was 6.5.737.000 (it was definately OK with that version), but then as I said in an earlier post the other more recent problem introduced with a Microsoft critical upgrade needs version 7.0.483.000 (earliest) to overcome that.

    Shutting down Zone does not prevent some of its protection from working. It has to be completely un-installed. I can't remember whether booting up in safe mode allowed you to get round this whilst you immunised the host file.
    Last edited by Greyfox; 2008-08-03 at 16:46.

  6. #26
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,164

    Default

    Hi,Greyfox.Hope you're not having a rainy Sunday,like I am.
    If I'm remembering correctly,I think a workaround for the hosts file locking problem before Zone Alarm fixed it in a newer version was to tick the hosts lock,even if it was not checkmarked,then untick it again.
    I think booting into safe mode and immunizing worked,too,but I only skimmed the old posts,to be truthful.

    I'm seeing the critical update issue as affecting Windows 2000/XP here:
    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...cessIssue.html

  7. #27
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Zenobia:

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Hi,Greyfox.Hope you're not having a rainy Sunday,like I am.
    ...
    Not bad here. Below normal temperature, not too humid and a nice breeze (so it is not oppressive like the last couple of days when I would have taken your rain).
    • Temperature: 82°F 28°C
    • Relative Humidity: 45%
    • Conditions: Partly Cloudy
    • Winds: NW 13 MPH NW 21 KPH

    I'll see if I can send it up the coast to you.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  8. #28
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zenobia View Post
    Hi,Greyfox.Hope you're not having a rainy Sunday,like I am.
    Rainy for the past few days. :P The thunder woke up me 6 AM in the morning.

  9. #29
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    478

    Default

    The thunder woke up me 6 AM in the morning.
    you are sleeping to long anyway, you should get up earlier.

    it was thunder here too one day, it was annoying, i couldnt connect to the internet either.

  10. #30
    Spybot Advisor Team Zenobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,164

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by md usa spybot fan
    I'll see if I can send it up the coast to you.
    Oh,please do send it up this way.Those kind of days are few and far between this Summer.

    Must be thundershowers in a lot of places,we had one just a little bit ago.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •