Thread: Version 1.6.0.31

Default Version 1.6.0.31

I'm relatively new to Spybot S&D and to this forum. Each Wednesday I manually update the Spybot signatures on my system. This afternoon when doing so, version 1.6.0.31 was automatically downloaded onto my system and I went ahead and installed it over the previous version.

I know I'm about to ask a common question...but I didn't see it mentioned in a brief search I did in this forum. Please excuse if I've overlooked it somewhere. My question is: Would it have been better for me to completely uninstall the previous Spybot S&D version and then do a fresh install of version 1.6.0.31? The information in the following link seems to suggest doing just that...but I couldn't tell for sure. http://www.spybot.info/en/howto/uninstall.html I like keeping my system running smoothly and it's my understanding sometimes doing a complete uninstall...then fresh install is preferable to installing an update on top of the existing program.

Please advise. Much thanks in advance.
    Last edited by d&ss1; 2008-08-07 at 04:50.

Hello,

It is also ok if you install over your old version.
    There were only little problems with very old versions and beta versions.

Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

Quote Originally Posted by spybotsandra View Post
    Hello,

It is also ok if you install over your old version.
    There were only little problems with very old versions and beta versions.

Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot
    Thank you, Sandra. If I may, I have two follow-up questions:
    1. Is there a setting I can change that will stop Spybot from automatically updating to a new program version when it becomes available?
    2. Is there any manual "clean-up work" that I should perform in the aftermath of the automatic program update to version 1.6.0.31 that occured on my system? For example, any folders that should be deleted in Windows Explorer? Or is this program update fairly clean and I should leave well-enough alone?