Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: AntiVirusDisableNotify!=dword:0

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default AntiVirusDisableNotify!=dword:0

    I have rebooted and run all of my virus & spyware tools several times now.
    1) AOL Spyware
    2) SpyBot
    3) Adaware
    4) McAfee Virus
    5) McAfee Spyware

    Everything comes back clean except SpyBot which keeps finding the same two things:

    Windows Security Center.AntivirusDisableNotify
    Settings
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Security Center\AntiVirusDisableNotify!=dword:0[/INDENT]

    Windows Security Center.FirewallDisableNotify
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Security Center\FirewallDisableNotify!=dword:0

    Both are listed as "Registry Changes" by SpyBot which supposedly fixes the problem when I hit "Fix Problems" but after a reboot and rerun they come back again.

    I have been a SpyBot user for over a year and these two problem messages are new - within the last month. It seems to me that their appearance indicates some "change-of-state" on my machine.

    I know this sounds bad but I am unsure if I even have a MS Windows Firewall. I have not purchased anything additional from MS, so i would only have what came loaded - so maybe yes, maybe no - I know I must be an idiot!

    I do have McAfee but NOT thier firewall tool

    How can I check to see if I have windows firewall available?
    How do I resolve the two problems above?

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    If you go into Start > Control Panel > Security Center > Resources (on the left hand side of the window – expand if necessary) > click "Change the way Security Center alerts me". This brings up an "Alert Setting" window.

    There are three possible alerts:
    • Firewall
      Alert me if my computer might be at risk because of my firewall settings
    • Automatic Updates
      Alert me if my computer might be at risk because of my Automatic Updates settings
    • Virus Protection
      Alert me if my computer might be at risk because of my virus protection software settings

    I believe that you will find that the first and third items are unchecked.

    When you installed McAfee SecurityCenter, you probably chose it as the default Security Center. When you do that McAfee SecurityCenter turns off these alerts in the Windows Security Center. If you reset the alerts, McAfee SecurityCenter will turn them off again when you re-boot the system as long as it is the default Security Center.

    While you are in the Windows Security Center, click on "Windows Firewall" It will tell you if the firewall is active.

    Please note that the Windows firewall is not secure as others because it only prevents incoming threats not outgoing. Consider using another firewall. See a list of some free firewalls here:
    Last edited by md usa spybot fan; 2006-03-27 at 00:19. Reason: Corrected a grammatical error for readability.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    You were correct about the security alert config's and the Firewall is working. I will look into getting a new one - thanks for the info.

    So, does this mean that the SpyBot "problems" are not really probelms?

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sootired
    So, does this mean that the SpyBot "problems" are not really probelms?
    That depends on how you look at it. The reason that you are getting the detections is because you chose McAfee SecurityCenter as the default Security Center, so you are now aware of the reason for the detections. However, Window Security Center will no longer alert you if either your anti-virus or firewall are not running or out of date, you must depend on the McAfee SecurityCenter to provide that notification.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •