Thread: I'm new to Spybot; Help for beginner

Default I'm new to Spybot; Help for beginner

As the title of this thread would suggest, I've just downloaded the Spybot - Search & Destroy internet security freeware. I'd like some advice and/or help to get this all geared to go so I don't have to bother with the entire thing too much.

I've heard that Spybot can be dangerous to use and delete many things, so I haven't done anything to it yet such as what I would assume a daily scan, and other features. If anyone could explain step-by-step the features or components I should "check" or allow/disallow.

Also, what is the (for blind users) addition? I'm certainly not blind , but I'm sure it's for something else? What could that be? Do I even need it? Should I delete it?

I'm also using AVG 8.0, or the latest edition. Would that be a problem? When I scan Spybot, I would likely scan AVG alongside it. Should I do something to AVG that would help it correspond with Spybot? Or should I not even use AVG, though I've heard it's a good software.

* My internet security basically holds AVG and Spybot. I can't afford any high-quality anti-virus/spyware right now unfortunately, or will these two work fine?

I've heard there are issues with immunization? Would that be a difficulty?

Now for some information to help. I'm the administrator of this computer, basically. I'm using XP Home Edition. I use Mozilla Firefox mainly, but Opera at times as well because of its speed. Hmm, that's basically it, didn't want to write an essay but I figure these are important questions.

I'll check in a day or two to possibly provide information or give praise for your help! Thanks in advance, I hope to be a frequent customer!

A warm welcome to you Scarker.
    Quote Originally Posted by Scarker View Post
    I've heard that Spybot can be dangerous to use and delete many things, so I haven't done anything to it yet such as what I would assume a daily scan, and other features.