Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Request for new features

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb Request for new features

    I'd love to see the following features added:

    1) The new "We have located [N] temporary files" feature is utterly annoying. I presume there are lots more people like me who keep their temp files under control and don't want indiscriminate removal (even automatically, if you don't say "No" in time!) of them by any program whatsoever. It really should be possible to enable/disable this feature under Advanced Mode / Settings.

    2) It's a pity that you can't pause Spybot (like you can pause e.g. Win defrag). I've run into this problem several times with older machines, especially laptops, where cpu cooling is problematic. On one particular laptop Spybot could never complete a full scan, because the cpu overtemperature protection powered down the machine. Adding a "Pause" feature would make it possible to run Spybot on such machines too.

  2. #2
    Guest
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    478

    Default

    already suggested:

    Ask user if he wants temp folder cleaning
    http://forums.spybot.info/project.php?issueid=278

    post your suggestions in this thread
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=107
    Last edited by blues; 2008-08-27 at 10:00.

  3. #3
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    There's a pause button if you go to the Settings page and enable the additional/expert buttons for the results page

    Btw, if it's just for your own use, you can already deactivate the temp folder cleaning, see this wiki page.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  4. #4
    Senior Member djpailo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    There's a pause button if you go to the Settings page and enable the additional/expert buttons for the results page

    I cant find it.

  5. #5
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    djpailo:

    re: Pause during a scan.

    A pause button appears during a "Check for problems" if you indicate that you want to use the "Advanced mode" feature "Show expert buttons in results list.".

    To activate the feature, go into into Spybot » Mode » Advanced mode (answer yes to the warning message if necessary) » Settings » Settings. Scroll down to near the bottom of the option tree to a category titled "Expert settings". Check the item in the list "Show expert buttons in results list.".

    __________

    ░ Expert settings
    ├ □ Use shredder to remove usage tracks,
    ├ □ Use shredder when purging recovery files.
    ├ ■ Show expert buttons in results list.
    ├ □ Show expert buttons in recovery list.
    └ ░ External viewers
    ֺֺֺ ├ □ Use external viewer application for files
    ֺֺֺ ├ □ Use external viewer application for folders
    ֺֺֺ └ □ Use external viewer application for registry items

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  6. #6
    Senior Member dj.turkmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    TURKEY/Ankara
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Oh I also didn't know this feature. But the pause button has the pause icon this is ok but when we press on the pause button the resume button appears but it's icon is still the pause icon. I hope i have been able to explain what i am trying to say
    DOCTUS.ORG Turkish security forum

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •