Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Scan freezes on file 1956

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Scan freezes on file 1956

    Hi, Have a Toshiba A200 NoteBook running Vista Home Premium 32 bit operating system.
    Start SpyBot scan and it reaches file 1956 wind update and freezes.
    It will then take some five hours to scan.
    I have tried the last 6 versions and the same thing.
    I'm really stumped as to what it might be.
    I have run all manner of spyware finders etc, and their have found nothing.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    What do you mean with you have tried the last 6 versions?
    So which Spybot version do you run now?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Sandra,
    These are the versions that have give this slow scan with vista.
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6 RC2
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6 RC1
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6 Beta 2
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6 Beta 1
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.5.2
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.5.2 RC1
    Im currently using
    Spybot Search & Destroy 1.4
    and it too is giving a very slow scan.
    I haven't tried any early versions.

    My xp pro PC is using Spybot Search & Destroy 1.6 with out any problems.

    Thanks for your reply

    Jon

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    That are all old outdated versions.
    And the 1.4 is even not getting updates anymore.
    So please uninstall these old versions and upgrade to the 1.6 final.
    You can download from one of them, it's secure and they all contain the same data:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Sandra,
    Over the past two days I have uninstalled all registry keys, folders, temporary files, shortcuts, turned system restore off, rebooted reinstalled 1.6 all to no avail.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Did you also tried a scan in safe mode?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Sandra,
    Dam, knew I forgot to try something.
    My notebook isn't with me at the moment, so I'll give that a try tomorrow.
    I'll post back with the results.

    Thanks for your time.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    219

    Default

    what i'd do
    IMHO follows
    un-immunize
    remove all versions of SBS&D shown in add/ remove programs
    go to
    www.safer-networking.org/en/howto/uninstall.html
    or search for the very small fix
    run the "very small fix"
    then and only then
    decide if you wish to install SD-helper and t-timer
    reinstall spybot 1.6
    update
    re-immunize

    there may still be very incompatible left overs from 1.4 and earlier days
    which leads to "unpredictable behaviour" and you do not want these hard to diagnose problems

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    5

    Thumbs up

    Hi Sandra & Wyrmrider,
    I've had a chance to try some things today in regards to the slow scan.
    Ok, what I've done is as follows.
    Uninstalled the program through Add Remove,
    Search the registry for any keys that relate to Spybot,
    Turn off system restore,
    reboot and download version 1.60, install.
    roboot in Safe Mode as you suggested Sandra, and run the program from there.
    Scan speed was as normal, it found nothing.
    Reboot to the desktop and ran scan again.
    Scan speed was as normal, it found nothing.
    Turned System Restore back on,
    Reboot to desktop and run scan again,
    Scan speed was as normal, it found nothing.
    I have rebooted several times and scanned and the scan speed is normal.
    I'm thinking that there must of been a corrupt registry key that wasn't right or something like that.

    All seems to be working fine now.
    Thank you for your time on this matter, I really appreciate it.

    I hope you guys have a great day .
    Thanks again.

    Jon
    Last edited by Hairs; 2008-10-01 at 13:21. Reason: Spelling

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •