Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S&D will not open

Default S&D will not open

When I click open or double click the icon on the desktop, nothing happens at all. I have this darn XP Antispyware that won't go away and keeps popping up saying I am infected, when in fact, it put things on my computer to tell me that I was infected. I have run S&D many times before, but it just won't open. I tried downloading the newer version and the same things happen. What do I need to do. Also, my computer stays on almost all the time connected to the internet, what can I download to set up a firewall so anyother computer needs to get permission.

If this is in the wrong spot, let me know. Sorry, I'm a newbie.

Try running the Spybot executable directly. Open the folder "C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy" in Windows Explorer, and double-click on SpybotSD.exe. (You may have to turn off "Hide protected operating system files" and turn on "Show hidden files and folders" in the Explorer settings before SpybotSD.exe will appear.)

If that doesn't work, malware may be blocking the Spybot program. Look for files in the Spybot S&D folder that end in .SCR. One of them should be the same size as SpybotSD.exe--that's a backup copy of the program. Open a command prompt (DOS) window, then click-and-drag that .SCR file into the command window. Hit [enter], and see if Spybot will start that way.

Hope this helps.
    Jay

Not to butt in but I'm in the exact same boat...

Then I have the exact same advice
    Are you able to start SpybotSD.exe directly, or run it from the .SCR file?

I tried both things you mentioned about viewing hidden files. I do not see any file ending in .exe or .scr in the spybot folder in program files.

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by penstripe View Post
    I tried both things you mentioned about viewing hidden files. I do not see any file ending in .exe or .scr in the spybot folder in program files.