Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Unsure about installation/uninstalling

Default Unsure about installation/uninstalling

Title: Unsure about installation/uninstalling

I have a Dell Pentium 3, Windows 2000, and have Spybot S&D version 1.5, etc., on my pc. I am not a techie-computer-knowledgeable person from the standpoint of understanding in-depth computer instructions. I have read as many FAQs as possible and looked through the forums for the exact information I need without finding specific answers to my questions. I have spent hours trying to understand and have run out of time.

I have used Spybot without any problems in the past—other than the fact that my computer was overrun this year with multiple viruses and trojans, etc., and was scrubbed twice (at least, that’s what I was told). I am on my own now with no one to ask and must do all computer tasks myself.

It’s my understanding that everyone must install the version 1.6. From what I’ve read, it sounds like I must uninstall the version 1.5 before I can install the version 1.6. I have read and copied the uninstall instructions. I am apprehensive about following them since I don’t really know what I’m doing, specifically in regard to “deleting the installation folder and downloading the small fix.” And are the instructions saying that you should delete the Application Data folder after you finish the other uninstall steps, or that it’s better not to delete it really??

And how do you “undo immunizations” as mentioned in a post related to uninstalling?

Then I also need help understanding these basic phrases:

“Run the file”?
    “Open the file directly”?
    “Execute the file”?

I have googled them and looked in the few resources I have, but I can’t be sure I really understand them.