Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TeaTimer doesn't catch registry changes

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default TeaTimer doesn't catch registry changes

    PC: Gateway E-2500S (2 weeks old)
    OS: XP Home

    To solve various problems setting up this new home machine, performed following steps:

    1. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.4
    2. Unistalled: SpybotS&D 1.4
    3. Ran Windows Explorer search for files/folders containing 'spy'
    4. Deleted above beloging to SpybotS&D
    5. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.3
    6. Uninstalled SpybotS&D 1.3
    7. Repeat steps 3 and 4.
    8. Installed: SpybotS&D 1.4
    9. Created Inno Setup script to add string to registry: HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\tst with value of "C:\temp\tst.bat" (which does nothing)

    When I run script to add registry entry, Teatimer does not respond. Entry is added with no block. Under 1.3 Teatimer caught registry change correctly.

    For a newbie in computers (give or take 30 years) any ideas?

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    I believe that you may have the code for the startup registry entry incorrect. Try:

    Code:
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "tst"="C:\temp\tst.bat"

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Wrong answer, please try again

    The actual Inno Setup code (version 5.1.6) is:

    [Setup]
    AllowUNCPath=no
    AppName=test
    AppVerName=test
    DefaultGroupName=test
    DefaultDirName=C:\Program Files\test
    DirExistsWarning=no
    DisableDirPage=yes
    DisableFinishedPage=no
    DisableProgramGroupPage=yes
    DisableReadyMemo=yes
    DisableReadyPage=yes
    DisableStartupPrompt=yes
    OutputBaseFilename=Setup
    OutputDir=Output
    Uninstallable=no
    Compression=zip/9
    [Registry]
    Root: HKLM; Subkey: "Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run"; Valuetype: string; Valuename: "test"; Valuedata: "C:\temp\tst.bat"; Flags: createvalueifdoesntexist

    I am also aware that this creates directory C:\Program Files\test which can safely be deleted. I just didn't want to spend the time to write a [Code] section using InitializeSetup and RegWriteStringValue.

    Anyway, this is not an Inno Setup forum.

    I also apologize for my weird sense of humor. The give or take 30 years includes 26 years as Data Base Specialist with the University of Arizona. I have done a lot of user support and troubleshooting over the years.

    Whatever this problem is, I need someone who has access to the Teatimer code and point out something (perhaps a registry entry or file content) that could be at fault.

    Thanks for any help or direction.

  4. #4
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    I changed the "Valuename" from "tst" to "test" to match your new sample and the following code is caught every time by TeaTimer 1.4:

    Code:
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "test"="C:\temp\tst.bat"

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Fixed

    For anyone who encounters this problem here are the steps that worked:
    1) Under Spybot S&D:
    a) Stop Teatimer
    b) Start Spybot S&D
    c) Click Mode > Advanced
    d) Click Tools / Resident
    e) Clear checkbox for Resident "TeaTimer"
    2) Power off, wait 2 minutes power on
    3) Unistall Spybot S&D 1.3
    4) Power off, wait 2 minutes, power on
    5) Install Spybot S&D 1.4, but do not activate TeaTimer resident
    6) Power off, wait 2 minutes, power on
    7) Open Spybot S&D 1.4
    8) Click "Search for Updates"
    9) Pick Safer Networking #2 (Europe) as server. Other server might also work.
    10) Click "Download Updates"
    11) Click Mode > Advanced
    12) Mark checkbox for Resident "TeaTimer"

    Restart might work instead of power off/power on. At a quess Spybot S&D 1.3 Teatimer was leaving a registry setting that interfered with Teatimer at 1.4

    Oh well, problem resolved (at least for me)

    Enjoy

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    When you provided the Inno Setup code, I thought that possibly the following code may have affected the testing:
    • Flags: createvalueifdoesntexist

    Since I don't use Inno Setup, I was not sure of that code could have affected your findings. Taken literally that code would indicate to me that if the registry entry existed that possibly Inno Setup would not attempt to recreate it and therefore TeaTimer would not detect it.
    Last edited by md usa spybot fan; 2006-04-11 at 18:59.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •