Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thank you for ruining . . . . .

Default Thank you for ruining . . . . .

another good program! I've been using Spybot for over 3 years and the program "was" great. Never had one problem. Updates were easy and fast along with everything else. I ran weekly full pc scans which completed in an average of 25 minutes. Now, with the recent program updates, scans now take anywhere over 4 hours. I've never really finished one, got tired of waiting. It seems to scan only 1 file at a time whereas it used to fly along. What have you done to destroy this program? I see from the forums many people are experiencing the same problem. Needless to say Spybot is no longer welcome on my machine and has been removed. The biggest laugh is when all the Spybot techs try to put the blame on the individuals machines instead of finding the problem within Spybot and fixing it!

Do you by chance have the phone number of some good mafiosi at hand, who would be willing to get rid of the malware writers their way? It's indeed not us who invent all the new malware we need to detect. A wire cutter to cut of all Internet lines to RBN lang might be an alternative of course.

Three years ago (since you mentioned that timespan), we used about 30.000 detection patterns. Before the update to 1.6 in July, we used 174.120 detection patterns. Today, we have nearly doubled the amount of thing we detect to 340.806 patterns, and ten times as much as three years ago. Doubling the amount of detections since 1.6 has eaten up all speed improvements in 1.6 I'm afraid :-( Time for new ones in 2.0

Three years ago, malware was still mostly "static" for weeks. Today some malware is generated in thousands of variants each day.

Detecting more (and more sophisticated) malware isn't possible without getting slower