Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: No immunization for firefox ??

  1. #11
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    I did upload a new BrowserCI version that displays a log tab showing the various steps of detectiing browsers. Could you please copy'n'paste that log here? It might show where it stops.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  2. #12
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    Ouch, didn't expect that the Mozilla section would be completely empty. That means he didn't even find the profiles.ini file. Which probably means a problem determining the appdata path (which, since it should work for inactive accounts as well, is a bit more complex than usual).

    I'll see if I can extend the log (and possibly detection) to find out more...
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  3. #13
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    Update: have you tried the 1.6.1 beta? While looking for possible reasons I just noticed that we had updated the appdata folder detection shortly after the release of 1.6.0 for those cases where the registry did not contain the shell appdata folder info (the registry is not the proper place anyway usually... but the only if you want to deal with multiple user accounts).

    The old registry only method would use this:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders\AppData=C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default


    @borhes

    We may have a similar problem but please do no hijack my thread,if you want to join in politely say so!




    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    [ Internet Explorer ]
    + Added default entry.
    . Probing entry for user SID .DEFAULT...
    + Added entry for .DEFAULT.
    . Probing entry for user SID S-1-5-18...
    + Added entry for S-1-5-18.
    . Probing entry for user SID S-1-5-19...
    + Added entry for S-1-5-19.
    . Probing entry for user SID S-1-5-20...
    + Added entry for S-1-5-20.
    . Probing entry for user SID S-1-5-21-1000365150-3690584322-3553714069-1000...
    + Added entry for S-1-5-21-1000365150-3690584322-3553714069-1000.

    [ Opera ]
    . Probing possible profile in C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera\profile\...
    . Probing possible profile in C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera7\profile\...
    . Probing possible profile in C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera75\profile\...
    . Probing possible profile in C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera80\profile\...
    . Probing possible profile in C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera90\profile\...

    [ Mozilla Firefox & compatibles ]

    [ Mozilla Firefox Portable & compatibles ]

    [ Google Chrome ]

    Thats the contents of my Log. I'll try 1.6.1


    ----------------------
    Split off borhes posts to own thread. http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=41197
    Last edited by tashi; 2008-12-09 at 23:10. Reason: Added link

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Tried Spybot S&D 1.6.1 Beta, still no firefox immunization.

  6. #16
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    I'll update the test tomorrow to show even more small steps to make sure we find the source of this. Could you meanwhile check the aforementioned registry value? Does it exist? Is it empty?
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PepiMK View Post
    I'll update the test tomorrow to show even more small steps to make sure we find the source of this. Could you meanwhile check the aforementioned registry value? Does it exist? Is it empty?
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders

    The directory tree stops till there and contains 3 registry keys


  8. #18
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,573

    Default

    That makes it quite complicated to find any place in the registry to use...

    I've updated BrowserCI (as our browser testfield) with a few other attempts at re-using other registry keys to use to find out the AppData path, as well as - the official way but not multi-user compatble - falling back to API calls.

    Hope this'll be able to detect Firefox; in that case I could port the changes to Spybot as well.
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    [ Mozilla Firefox & compatibles ]
    . Looking at profiles for user with SID S-1-5-21-1000365150-3690584322-3553714069-1000...
    . A: Found Shell Folder AppData registry information: \
    . B: Found AppData environment information: C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\
    . Final AppData found: C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\
    . Probing profile ini file file at C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\profiles.ini...
    . Found profile reference to C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\rl19akyr.default\.
    i cookies.sqlite detected, assuming profile is Firefox 3.0 or equivalent.
    + Added Mozilla profile at C:\Users\Earl Benson\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\rl19akyr.default\.
    i Browser detection took 00.010 seconds.

    [ Mozilla Firefox Portable & compatibles ]
    i Browser detection took 00.000 seconds.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I also had this problem on a 32bit vista machine a while back. My only conclusion was a botched Firefox issue when I restored my profile after a system loss. I posted here but we never figured it out.

    Have you done anything regarding backing up or restoring your Firefox installation/profile? I.E. using a program called Mozbackup?

    My post for reference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •