Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help opening Spybot

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Help opening Spybot

    I need help opening Spybot. Before I updated it, I had my old Spybot set up to run an update check and then a full system check. Well, the new update check hangs meaning I can't open Spybot. Is there a way to open Spybot without doing those two checks so that I can institute new settings?

  2. #2
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Aleena, have you configured Spybot to run a scan during startup? Your post is too vague, because it lacks detail. What Operating System are you running? Can you access Spybot from your desktop?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    My operating system is Windows XP. I have Spybot set up to load during Start Up, but that is not the problem. The problem is that it will not open when I click on it since the update search hangs.

    I tried to open it from the taskbar, Quick Start menu, and even from My Computer. It still searches for updates and might do a scan when I try to open the program.

    It goes to the Spybot-S&D Updater first, and then hangs there. I click Abort to go around the updater, and the program won't open.
    Last edited by Lady Aleena; 2008-12-13 at 00:56.

  4. #4
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    I really don't think Spybot-SD "loads" during startup, unless you are referring to it's Resident Shields (which I doubt that is causing the problem). I'm understand that you cannot get past the Updater screen because it hangs?

    Try uninstalling Spybot-Search&Destroy, reboot, and reinstall a fresh copy from:
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/mirrors/index.html
    -

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    586

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lady Aleena View Post
    My operating system is Windows XP. I have Spybot set up to load during Start Up, but that is not the problem. The problem is that it will not open when I click on it since the update search hangs.

    I tried to open it from the taskbar, Quick Start menu, and even from My Computer. It still searches for updates and might do a scan when I try to open the program.

    It goes to the Spybot-S&D Updater first, and then hangs there. I click Abort to go around the updater, and the program won't open.
    With Spybot closed, using Explorer, goto C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Spybot - Search & Destroy. In that folder you will find a file called configuration.ini. Rename it to oldConfiguration.ini. Then restart Spybot. It will automatically produce a new Configuration.ini file using the default settings.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Greyfox...I am so sorry that I had not come back sooner to see you most excellent solve! Thank you so very much!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •