Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [resolved] MD5 No match 1.6.1.41

  1. #1
    Junior Member Q Section's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default [resolved] MD5 No match 1.6.1.41

    Both the links on this page are not matching the published MD5 on the same page.
    HMSS Q Section
    Visualise World Righteousness
    Semper Ad Fundum
    SIS is recruiting! (Click for more information)

  2. #2
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Q Section:

    The MD5 hash value for the spybotsd-1.6.1.41.exe download matches the published value when I just downloaded it:
    • MD5: 5756364DF87AF0ADDBDB8FDAEA76E8F7

    The MD5 hash value for the spybotsd-1.6.1.38.exe download matched the published value when I downloaded it on 2008-11-17:
    • MD5: AD97479E9A3197843BD66352651ADC9D

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    586

    Default

    Q Section,

    To confirm md usa spybot fan's post, I too have just downloaded 1.6.1.41 and 1.6.1.38 from the page in your link, and the MD5's did match the hash values given on that page. My MD5 checks were made using winMd5Sum from Nullriver.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,574

    Default

    Which just reminded me that I saw this feature in the latest dTa version...

    Trying: 1.6.1.41 and 1.6.1.38.

    Wonder if we should add this to our download links to integrate a check for supported downloaders, or if it would create trouble with others...
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  5. #5
    Junior Member Q Section's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Egg on face here:

    We have been using the MD5 Calculator and did not realize that it's setting "Upper case" was not but needed to be ticked for this particular item. Now upon ticking the checkbox (because the published MD5 has all the characters in upper case) we do obtain an equal match so all is well here after all.

    Last edited by Q Section; 2008-12-30 at 18:39.
    HMSS Q Section
    Visualise World Righteousness
    Semper Ad Fundum
    SIS is recruiting! (Click for more information)

  6. #6
    Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,859

    Default

    Q Section:

    I use MD5 Checker 2.31 for checking MD5 hash values. The program (MD5.exe) does not have to be installed (just executed), case does not seem to matter and it will compare a files MD5 hash with a value in the clipboard so there is no need to paste the expected MD5 hash value into the program to do the comparison.
    Last edited by md usa spybot fan; 2008-12-30 at 19:42.

    Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.


    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz IntelŪ PentiumŪ 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •