Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Immunize twice?

Default Immunize twice?

I have noticed that when Immunizing, about 120 files remain "unprotected". As I had no idea what that meant I immunized again and those 120 unprotected files were then listed as protected. Should I usually have to immunize twice in a row?
    Yes I do have AVG Antivirus and did read the sticky regarding unprotected files but as I am new to Spybot and this whole malware software field I don't understand what is going on in this area. I appreciate any insight into this.
    Randal

It always helps when you ask a question if you provide some background.

Specifically, what operating system, what version of Spybot, what browsers do you have, is it a single user or multiuser computer and importantly what catagory were the 120 items that were unprotected?

My apologies. I am quite new to this type of program and, as you have probably discovered, have had some difficulties with various issues. I am running Windows XP home edition, with all of the latest updates and Service Packs installed. I only use Internet Explorer 7 and there are no aditional users set. I do not remember which files were not protected on the first run as I found it difficult to find that information. I will try harder to get that information on the next run. This has happened everytime I innoculate and find it strange that it is always 120 files unprotected, but become protected without any apparent problems with the second run. I thank you for your reply.

As far as I know it has always been like that. Specially, the first time we apply the immunizations, and then, after we re-immunize after each update. It will never immunize everything. I always had to do it twice.

It has nothing to do with AVG or operating system. In every security systems I deploy, where I also install Spybot, it has always happened.

Regards