Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 78

Thread: Updater warning message.

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Is everyone here using Windows Vista 64bit?

    Please post your OS and version to help track the issue.

    I did post a bug report here: http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=45761


    I personally and using Vista 64bit.


    X

  2. #12
    Junior Member DLWilson61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    2

    Angry Error Retrieving Update Info File!

    Vista & Windows XP are what's agrevating me

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    The same thing is happening to me! I am using Windows Vista 32bit.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Vista32

    Again, anyone know how to go back?

  5. #15
    Member of Team Spybot PepiMK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    3,571

    Default

    It might have to do with the DDoS attacks on the computing center where the main update information is hosted, which have started again yesterday. If the file is only partially received due to those, it might not have updates... does it show a list of mirrors to select from?
    Just remember, love is life, and hate is living death.
    Treat your life for what it's worth, and live for every breath
    (Black Sabbath: A National Acrobat)

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Updater Warning Message

    I too am getting that problem on the Vista Ultimate 32 bit machine.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hello,

    The update doesn't work on any windows versions...

    I think the reason for that is the timeout to the server, currently overloaded or it has its own problems...

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ivo2296 View Post
    Hello,

    The update doesn't work on any windows versions...

    I think the reason for that is the timeout to the server, currently overloaded or it has its own problems...
    If this is the case then why is it only related to the new release?

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ncguy View Post
    If this is the case then why is it only related to the new release?

    I didn't know that the update works on older versions.

    I don't even know if there any changed program code for the update function...

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I'm on XP Home SP3 32 bit and I can't get the updater to work either. I installed 1.6.2 over the old version with the old version still running. It should be able to install that way because it's done so before and says only to close other applications. Though it doesn't happen as often as it used to, problems getting updates due to server traffic has happened before and they have suggested manually downloading them.

    I never have it set to automatically update, preferring to click the update tab when I run a scan. I get an error retrieving update message, along with program not responding and send error report. I'm pretty sure these can all be related to the updater connection to their server timing out. I think it's probably server overload as mentioned because I can't even get on their site to manually download the detection updates.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •