Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Question on Immunized listing

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Red face Question on Immunized listing

    There seem to be double entries in the SB list on the immunize page. Can someone help me figure out what this is.

    There are two entries right next to each other on the page for these items with one showing all protected and the next showing the same number Not protected.

    item Not protected protected total
    default cookies 0 193 193
    default cookies 193 0 193
    default images 0 10082 10082
    default images 10082 0 10082
    default installations 0 10082 10082
    default installations 10082 0 10082
    default popups 0 10082 10082
    default popups 10082 0 10082

    So what does this mean? Is the protection there or not?

    System: W2k, OutPost FW, Nod32 AV

    Also why does Immunization run every time you click on that button? I thought it wanted you to tell it to immunize before it did anything. That was the way it used to be. And that made it a lot easier to see what was immunized.

    On the positive side:
    btw I am glad to see that the unfortunate move to automatically load that huge hosts file as a protection mode has been removed. that was a bad move since a lot of people use hosts as a way to assure certain IP are cached for fast use and use localhost 127.0.0.1 for accessing them. Like tunnels.

    Gluten

  2. #2
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    My first guess would be that there are two user accounts (or used to) on the machine. Are there two accounts on the machine?

    When the click the Immunize tab, it merely checks the status of the Immunization, nothing further. It is only when you click on the green cross that actually immunizes.

    Can you try Immunizing over the current one and see what happens?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    drragostea,

    Ok, thanks for looking at this. I will do that as you suggest & post back.

    This machine has 5 user accounts. Each of which shows as being immunized in the rest of the list. It is just the top ones where I see the "not protected" items. But only this main one ever really gets used.

    Not sure about other installations. FireFox is the main browser. IE is only there because "it came with" and was needed for MS updates.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Post

    drragostea,

    OK, I did the click on the green "+" sign. And it stayed the same. I still have the two lines per FF entry. And the total of unprotected items, as shown in teh upper right corner of the gray band, matches the sum of those lines.

    Haven't even logged in as any of the other users for ages. All program additions are only done thur my main administrator level login. And I see only 1 Mozilla FF entry when I look at the add/remove programs control panel.

    any ideas?

    Gluten79

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,263

    Default

    Hello,

    Which version of Spybot do you run?

    Best regards
    Sandra
    Team Spybot

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    spybotsandra,

    Thanks for your reply. The version of SpyBot shows to be Version 1.6.0.30

    Gluten79

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •