Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Spybot vs. McAfee

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Spybot vs. McAfee

    Hello, I need some help here. I'm not real computer savvy but I believe my McAfee anti-virus is slowing my computer considerably. If I were to delete McAfee and replace it with Spybot, would I have the same type of protections against viruses, etc?

    My concern is that I'll leave myself open to serious problems if I don't stick with McAfee. Anyone have information they can share with me?

    Thanks in advance,

    Dan
    Last edited by tashi; 2009-02-10 at 23:37. Reason: Moved from OpenSBI Discussion

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,492

    Default

    Hello dlewk,

    Spybot-S&D is not an anti virus program. The application searches for spyware, malware, adware, trojans, hijackers and keyloggers.

    For program suggestions please see:
    So how did I get infected in the first place?

    Anti Virus Programs

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default Thanks for the info

    My girlfriends brother told her it's all she would need so he dumped her McAfee. Now I just have to figure out how to get anti-virus and spybot so my computer doesn't slow down so much.

    dan

  4. #4
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

  5. #5
    Senior Member chewdz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Talking about Mcafee, i came across an article in a magazine comparing the features and performance between various security suites. It states in the article that Mcafee's firewall is "Limited and porous". Norton had a rating of 4.5(out of 5) for firewall while Mcafee had 2.5. Why is Mcafee's firewall described as such?

  6. #6
    Senior Member ght1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    210

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chewdz View Post
    Why is Mcafee's firewall described as such?
    http://www.matousec.com/projects/fir...ge/results.php

  7. #7
    Senior Member chewdz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    176

    Default

    So that means that i may use the Comodo Internet Security for my computer for the best protection? Or should i use different applications?

  8. #8
    Senior Member drragostea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    @Home
    Posts
    3,674

    Default

    Actually that'll be up to you. Everyone has different tastes. Comodo Pro Firewall is pretty good. And Comodo was pretty generous to offer a security suite for free.

  9. #9
    Senior Member chewdz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    176

    Default

    It's indeed that they are pretty generous to offer a free one.... If Norton had sold their firewall separately like their antivirus, i would have bought it.... Haha.

  10. #10
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,492

    Default

    I'm not crazy about "suites", they remind me of the fax/printer/copier/telephone/scanner all in ones.

    Something goes wrong, good luck finding out where.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •