Thread: Protection reset with each reboot

Default Protection reset with each reboot

I have been using SpybotS&D for many years, now, and have had a problem for the last two that I have not yet been able to find a solution for.

Every time I boot up my computer, I check the Spybot status and it always says that I have 184 unprotected items. I'll do the immunization so that it says 0 unprotected items. The next time I boot my computer, I have 184 unprotected items.

What is resetting my protection with each boot up? How can I get this to stop? I really don't want to have to wipe my HD and start from scratch.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

^_^

Hi WolfShade,

Can you exactly say which unprotected items you mean?

Which other security tools do you use?

Best regards,
    -Matt-

Spybot Advisor Team [Retired] md usa spybot fan's Avatar

WolfShade:

What version of Spybot - Search & Destroy are you running (Spybot » Help » About)?

What Windows OS (Operating System) are you running?

What other security software are you running (Anti-Virus, Anti-Spyware/Anti-Malware, Firewall, etc.)?

What specific "Profiles" (items in the listing) are being reported as having unprotected immunization items ? i.e.

Code:
    Internet Explorer (32 bit)
    □ \SOFTWARE (Cookies)
    □ \SOFTWARE (Domains)
    □ \SOFTWARE (IPs)
    □ \SOFTWARE (Plugins)
    Etc.
    Last edited by md usa spybot fan; 2009-02-19 at 20:08.

Getting an answer is one thing, learning is another.

Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition running on a 2.40GHz Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with 512 MB of RAM and a 533 MHz System Bus.

Smile

I'll reboot my system and get some screen caps to post, here.

Meanwhile, to answer the questions as best I can:

WinXP Pro SP2 (SP3 is EVIL)
    SpybotS&D 1.6.2.46
    SpywareBlaster 4.1
    Avira Anti-Virus 8.2.0.337
    ZoneAlarm 8.0.065.000
    CookiePal 1.7c
    Wise Registry Cleaner 2.96 Build 101