Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: installing spybot

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default installing spybot

    can you install spybot without having an internet connection, 1.3 use to but 1.62 does not.

    my problem is i had a dns changer virus infected a machine that was not protected, virus is killed now, but all the settings in registry and elsewhere for DNS remains, so cant install cause spybot installer wants to contect to internet, which i cant do.
    i have scan regisrty etc for ip, but they keep coming back, latest macafee vius s/w installed now

  2. #2
    Junior Member Super-Chief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    3

    Default

    If you don't have an internet connection, then you don't really need Spybot at all. All you would really need is a virus scanner to scan the files you copy onto your computer from other people.

    Spyware is only functional if you have internet access as it takes your personal information and sends it to some evil person at the other end. So if you don't have an internet connection, that will never happen.

    The only threat that spyware could possibly pose to you would be to degrade the performance of your PC. However, if you don't use a browser, then there is no way that spyware could even be installed on your system. It would just be, at worst, a dead file sitting on your hard drive. Something has to invoke/execute a spyware program in order for it to become active. So if you don't access a source, such as a browser, to do that, it will never get executed.

  3. #3
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,139

    Lightbulb yes you can

    Quote Originally Posted by mr_blonde View Post
    can you install spybot without having an internet connection, 1.3 use to but 1.62 does not....
    To install spybot without a internet connection, do the following:

    During the install process there is an option to uncheck download updates immediately. Uncheck that and then click install. You will then be able to install spybot without a Internet connection. You will need to download the definition files manually however, which can be downloaded here.

    I hope that helps.

    @ Super-Chief

    While I do agree with your statement somewhat; I also think you miss a very important factor. Any storage media, such as thumb drives, cd's, etc. Can pose a risk to your computer. Just because the computer is not on the Internet does not mean it is safe.

    Also, mr_blonde stated he was on the Internet before, but due to his machine infected he got off the Internet. It would be a bad idea to let a infected machine stay on the Internet during the cleaning procedure. This is because new infections can download as the old ones are being removed.

    @ mr_blonde

    If you need further assistance is removing the infection, please post in the malware removal forums. Please read these directions before posting a new thread. Thank you, and good luck. Let us know if you require any more assistance.
    Last edited by 129260; 2009-03-20 at 19:35.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  4. #4
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,169

    Smile an addition

    Hi mr_blonde,

    to Safer Networking Forums.

    I would like you to read Installation without Internet access.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •