Thread: Pop-up Virus - Need help

Default Pop-up Virus - Need help

This is my first time posting to here and I am hoping to find some answers.

Yesterday my computer started randomly opening up additional Internet Explorer applications while I was online, however they were more like pop-ups than web pages. Random things like, advertisements for anti-spam software, dating websites, etc... It also started opening up new tabs in the internet explorer application I was working in. To the extent that there were so many that I had to shut down the computer because it froze.

My subscription to McAfee is current and when I ran a scan (twice - yesterday and today) nothing came up. I've googled looking for answers and have read about a dozen programs to download, but I wasn't sure what to trust. Hopefully someone out there can help me with my problem. Thanks!

Emeritus

Hello and welcome to Safer Networking.

My name is km2357 and I will be helping you to remove any infection(s) that you may have.

I will be giving you a series of instructions that need to be followed in the order in which I give them to you.

If for any reason you do not understand an instruction or are just unsure then please do not guess, simply post back with your questions/concerns and we will go through it again.

Please do not start another thread or topic, I will assist you at this thread until we solve your problems.

Lastly the fix may take several attempts and my replies may take some time but I will stick with it if you do the same.

Step # 1: Download and Run HijackThis

Download HJTInstall.exe to your Desktop.

• Doubleclick HJTInstall.exe to install it.
    • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis.
    • Click on Install.
    • It will create a HijackThis icon on the desktop.
    • Once installed, it will launch Hijackthis.
    • Click on the Do a system scan and save a logfile button. It will scan and the log should open in notepad.