Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 61

Thread: Teatimer 1.6.6.32 False Positives

  1. #11
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,139

    Lightbulb hmm...

    @yodama:

    Thank you. I just thought that this is really odd behavior for teatimer. Also, maybe this might help, since you mentioned there is a possible issue with incompatibility with another program.

    I run the following security programs:

    Windows defender, spybot (of course), Avast!, and malware bytes. Although malware bytes is scan only and does not run unless the program is launched, i thought i would still mention it. I was not running any scans or anything during that time. Just installing the latest update for adobe.

    @metaed:

    It's interesting that you and I have this flagged by teatimer as something different. Like Yodama stated, it might be a compatibility issue. Can you check and see if you have the same security software that i have above listed?
    Last edited by 129260; 2009-03-18 at 13:49.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  2. #12
    Junior Member metaed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    5

    Exclamation

    These two other applications are also resident on my PC and scanning files for signatures.

    Secunia PSI 1.0.0.3
    Avast On-Access Scanner, part of Avast 4.8 Professional, build Feb2009 (4.8.1335)
    --
    Sometimes they fool you by walking upright.

  3. #13
    Senior Member Yodama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Buchenheim
    Posts
    1,110

    Default

    Thank you for your information on this.
    Since both of you have Avast installed I will check on this first to see if there are any issues combined with Teatimer.
    I will keep you updated on the results.
    born in the shadow to die in the shadow, that is the fate of the shinobi

    Spybot S&D Downloads

    Please help us improve Spybot and download our distributed testing client.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Yodama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Buchenheim
    Posts
    1,110

    Default

    Test with Avast and Teatimer is done and they do not appear to collide.

    Looks like I have to continue checking on the other apps.
    born in the shadow to die in the shadow, that is the fate of the shinobi

    Spybot S&D Downloads

    Please help us improve Spybot and download our distributed testing client.

  5. #15
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,139

    Lightbulb ok.

    I also forgot to mention that i had secunia psi installed as well, that is what offered me the update to adobe. I just noticed that the other user had that as well. I wonder if secunia psi is the root of the compatibility issue? I highly doubt it, but it might be worth a look...

    Also, thanks Yodama for looking into this. Hopefully we can figure out what is going on here with teatimer.
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    39

    Default

    I got a similar thing yesterday afternoon:

    3/18/2009 11:35:07 PM Allowed (based on user decision) value "Adobe Reader Speed Launcher" (new data: ""C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 8.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"") added in System Startup global entry!
    3/18/2009 11:35:07 PM Encountered and terminated PestCapture in C:\WINDOWS\System32\msiexec.exe!

    Pest Capture? Both log entries have identical times and it happened during the Adobe automatic update.

    This is on a WinXP Pro system, SP3 - SpyBot 1.6.2.0, System Settings Protector 1.6.6.32

    Sunbelt Personal Firewall, IDBlaster, MRUBlaster, KeyScrambler, NOD32, TH Guard all running resident. Pete

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    39

    Default

    I forgot to mention that I have Secunia PSI running here, too. Pete

  8. #18
    Senior Member Yodama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Buchenheim
    Posts
    1,110

    Default

    thank you for the additional information.

    I checked Secunia PSI. There is no indication that it is involved in the Teatimer issue. There appear to be no issues between Teatimer and Secunia PSI.

    Maybe I have to look at this issue from a different angle.
    born in the shadow to die in the shadow, that is the fate of the shinobi

    Spybot S&D Downloads

    Please help us improve Spybot and download our distributed testing client.

  9. #19
    Senior Member 129260's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the USA
    Posts
    1,139

    Lightbulb Any news?

    any more updates Yodama on what is going on? Thanks
    "I am learning just like everyone else"
    new members!
    Custom built PC. Windows 7 pro x64 16GB Ram
    AMD FX 8 core 8350 Black edition
    SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3 R2.0
    Asus HD 7870 2GB GDDR5

  10. #20
    Senior Member Yodama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Buchenheim
    Posts
    1,110

    Default

    I currently have no good news on this issue. Only a couple more similar reports.
    These Teatimer false positives appear to be random. We may be needing a new version of Teatimer which gives us a bit more output, for instance the SBI ID.
    born in the shadow to die in the shadow, that is the fate of the shinobi

    Spybot S&D Downloads

    Please help us improve Spybot and download our distributed testing client.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •