Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tea Timer.exe slowing start-up

Question Tea Timer.exe slowing start-up

I've been using SB S&D for a couple of years now, and recently tea timer has been significantly slowing down my start-up. I am running Windows XP svc pack 3 and IE 7. When I check windows task manager i see that the app is using about 8GB of memory on start-up, which is interfering with me opening up any other apps until tea timer completes its start-up.

Right now my main solution is to remove Spybot, but I would like to keep using it, but this slow down is very annoying. Any suggestions for dealing with this issue?

Thank you.

You can only disable TeaTimer protection to get some memory. However, you won't be protected anymore by TeaTimer.
    TeaTimer loads some files from Includes folder which are used to detect some bad processes or registry change. However, loading these files takes a lot of CPU and Memory usage.
    To disable TeaTimer, go to Spybot-S&D > Tools > Resident and clear (untick) the checkbox named: Resident "TeaTimer" (Protection of over-all system settings) active.

I'd suggest you disable the Resident Shield, not remove the whole anti-spyware program. :o)

I think you made a typo with 8GB of memory consummation during bootup.

Default Tea timer vs. Resident Shield

What's the difference between the resident shield & the tea timer?
    I would be happy to keep tea timer running, but having to wait 20 minutes for my laptop to start-up is crazy.

Thanks.

There is no diffrence between Resident Shield and TeaTimer (Altough, in future 2.0 Spybot-S&D Resident Shield won't be named TeaTimer anymore).

The problem for CPU usage is Priority. TeaTimer uses Low priority, which makes loading very long. AFAIK, there is no way to fix it.

Slow startup and protection or Fast startup and no protection, you will need to decide.