Thread: About using SpyBot's new contextual menu item

Default About using SpyBot's new contextual menu item

After upgrading SpyBot to 1.6.2, I noticed the new 'Scan using SpyBot-Search&Destroy' contextual menu item and, as a technician, I rejoiced!

I work on computers, every day, that are badly infected. Usually, I can install SpyBot and run it and its track record has been very impressive. Occasionally, though, I am presented with a machine so badly infected that it cannot boot properly or, if it does boot, it won't run well enough to be able to install and run SpyBot (or the other utilities I use in situations like this).

So one of the best uses I can see for this new feature is to let me remove a badly infected hard drive from its computer, install it as a slave drive in a working shop computer and then scan it for infections using SpyBot to clean it up enough to be able to boot.

I tried this last night and it seems to work, but it is excruciatingly slow; in the last 8 hours, it has scanned about 10% of the drive's files.

I realize that scanning an entire drive is not what this tool was intended for; spyware likes to live in certain places on the drive. I'd like to know what areas of a hard drive I should be scanning to optimize the chances of removing debilitating infections while minimizing the amount of time the tool needs to work.

What would you advise in this situation? Is there some sort of guide or tutorial on using this excellent new feature?

Is there some other way to run SpyBot on a machine that won't boot or run well enough to install the program?

Thanks so much for an excellent utility!

Quote Originally Posted by Up & Running
    I'd like to know what areas of a hard drive I should be scanning...
    Then the possibilities of knowing where to scan would be vague. Malware can hide anywhere on the drive, so that minimizes your chances of sucessfully pinpointing a exact place.