Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dial-Up, two computers, one phone line

  1. #1
    Member Bithpq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    74

    Default Dial-Up, two computers, one phone line

    Is it at all possible to setup two computers on a network using a router and them sharing an internet connection or one computer hosting the internet. Would I need a certain type of network cable? A certain type of router? A certain type of modem? Or does this even work with dial-up?

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,483

    Default

    Hi Bithpq,

    What are the operating systems?
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Member Bithpq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    74

    Default

    They both will be XP SP1 then they will be updated.

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=48091
    (found my XP disk and I am formatting tonight )

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,483

    Default

    Hello Bithpq,

    Quote Originally Posted by Bithpq View Post
    They both will be XP SP1 then they will be updated.
    Niether have a Service Pack?
    Quote Originally Posted by Bithpq View Post
    (found my XP disk and I am formatting tonight )
    Referring to http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=48754
    Good.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  5. #5
    Member Bithpq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Niether have a Service Pack?
    The install disk is XP SP1. Once it is installed they will be updated completely.

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Yes

  6. #6
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,483

    Default

    Hi Bithpq,
    Quote Originally Posted by Bithpq View Post
    The install disk is XP SP1. Once it is installed they will be updated completely.
    What operating system is on them now, are you going to perform a clean install of XP?

    To get the complete picture.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  7. #7
    Member Bithpq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    What operating system is on them now, are you going to perform a clean install of XP?
    One of the Computers is Windows 2K SP4 and the other is XP SP3. But they are both victims of virut so I am backing up important documents and formatting them both. First the XP (today) then 2K (tomorrow). Then after it is completely clean install XP, drives, programs and update.

    Another thing I should add is that I only have one modem.
    Last edited by Bithpq; 2009-06-02 at 22:33. Reason: Missing some info

  8. #8
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,483

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bithpq View Post
    But they are both victims of virut
    You were hit hard. I'm curious, did they all get infected with Virut because of an infected USB?

    There is a lot of information to be found on networking, you could start here. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310563

    Hope that helps.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  9. #9
    Member Bithpq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    You were hit hard. I'm curious, did they all get infected with Virut because of an infected USB?
    I believe that was the case.
    I think the source came from a fake windows update. Then the internet started to slow down and I didnt think that the computer was infected at first untill I scaned. But I alredy put my plug into the other computer then it spread.

    One thing that always pops up to new USB flash drives is some installer opens up and quickly closes everytime. I suspect that was virut.

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    There is a lot of information to be found on networking, you could start here. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310563

    Hope that helps.
    Thanks
    Last edited by Bithpq; 2009-06-03 at 18:22. Reason: missing word

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •