Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: multipul problems after fake spybot remover downloaded

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    The R3 Line has been deleted.

    Yes I rebooted after running MBAM. I forgot to put it in my last post but just after rebooting before the icons or the taskbar apeared on the screen I got a message saying: Windows cannot find "C:\Program". Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button, and then click Search. I clicked OK and Windows other wise started normally. If I remember correctly, this was the second time I got that message, however I can't remember when I got the first one.

    AVG I currently running and will take about an hour and fourty mintutes to complete on my computer. I'll update once I get that information you're looking for.

    One quick question: I after running MBAM and seeing Spybot was working I decided to try to see if I could get Age of Empires 3 to run but ended up getting the blue screen in the same place. Should I attempt to unistall and reinstall the program to see if it simply has a corrupted file or should I wait until later after we've run some more system dignostics. (yes I know games come later, but I figured if it's just a currupted file we could remove it from the list of problems, but if deleting and reinstall would cause more problems for you in your systems search I'd rather hold off)

  2. #12
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    If you get that error message again, check to make sure you posted it word for word. This is what I can getting now:
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...&aq=f&oq=&aqi=

    You can try reinstalling the game, but in my humble opinion, you will have issues running resource intense games until you add RAM. For instance, I use my computer for just basic computing and I have 1.25 GB's of RAM. Crucial.com suggests:
    Power User/Student
    Internet browsing, email, word processing, photo editing, video editing, graphics programs and gaming, intensive multitasking. 2GB-4GB*
    Post the results of the AVG scan and then go here, Register free and run the test, post a link to the results so I can view them.
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/default.asp
    (there is no reason to purchase anything, the diagnostic report is free)

    Thanks
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I did post the previous start up error word for word, I made sure to write it down just to make sure.
    Well I searched the google link you provided and found this sight: http://www.securitystronghold.com/so...20program.html . which stated this:
    c program.exe is a System required process and it shouldn't be disabled. Please note: c program.exe is needed for essential applications to work properly. Pay attention that there are plenty of malicious programs, which try to disguise their files as c program.exe - such files should be removed immidiately.
    I downloaded the "Windows Cannot Find" (I searched the net and saw nothing that sayed it was adware or malware however it is a free download pay to use type application. It was probably still stupid of me to download it though)test it had and it came up with these three things (word for word) as possible reasons:

    Invalid data C;\Windows\system32\userinit.exe of the key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlo (there's at least one more letter at the end of the file but I couldn't quite make which one it was)
    Service SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Viewpoint Manager Service with invalid file path
    Service SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\VolSnap with invalid file path

    I deleted the program right after I finished writing the results here.

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    AVG Results:
    "Scan ""Scan whole computer"" was finished."
    "No infection was found during this scan"
    "Folders selected for scanning:";"Scan whole computer"
    "Scan started:";"Friday, July 24, 2009, 3:10:48 PM"
    "Scan finished:";"Friday, July 24, 2009, 5:59:13 PM (2 hour(s) 48 minute(s) 24 second(s))"
    "Total object scanned:";"662544"
    "User who launched the scan:";"Tyler W"

    "Warnings"
    "File";"Infection";"Result"
    "C:\Documents and Settings\Tyler W\Cookies\tyler_w@m.webtrends[1].txt:\m.webtrends.com.b4ca7df0";"Found ";"Moved to Virus Vault"
    "C:\Documents and Settings\Tyler W\Cookies\tyler_w@m.webtrends[1].txt";"Found ";"Moved to Virus Vault"

    PCPitstop results:
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/Summary.asp

  5. #15
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/Summary.asp <<< that is not a link to the test results
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  6. #16

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I decided to run Malwarebytes again with a quick systems scan and I came up with two hits. I removed and restarted, then ran the malware program again and I got the same two hits. Either the program isn't deleting these issues, they keep reinstalling themselves from somewhere else or they're miss reading files as maleware. Anyway here are the two programs that keep coming back.

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.39
    Database version: 2498
    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3

    7/24/2009 10:22:32 PM
    mbam-log-2009-07-24 (22-22-32).txt

    Scan type: Quick Scan
    Objects scanned: 98311
    Time elapsed: 5 minute(s), 31 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 1
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 0
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 1

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\UAC (Rootkit.Trace) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\uacinit.dll (Trojan.Agent) -> Delete on reboot.

  8. #18
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    Thanks...start with this list and click each item, then follow the directions to fix the problem. (once again, there is no reason to purchase anything to do this) http://www.pcpitstop.com/betapit/sec.asp?conid=22429191

    When you get to Memory Load (at some point you will need to install more RAM)
    This system had a total memory load of 81% during testing. This often indicates that more programs were running than could be handled by the installed RAM.
    It may also indicate a system that needs rebooting because of memory leakage, a system running multiple anti-virus and anti-spyware programs, or a system that has been infected by malware.
    Try rebooting this system and re-testing to see if the problem goes away. Consider adding RAM to this system.
    When you click: Defragment File (Drive C: ) Performance 1703
    My suggestion is to navigate to and delete that file:
    C:\ Young Girl Picked up by Pervert on the Streets, Free Porn Sex 112.16 MBs 1703
    I also suggest you click through all of the tabs for additional information.

    If you have problems understanding any of the advice, post here for help:
    http://forums.pcpitstop.com/index.php?showforum=6

    Since MBAM can't seem to remove this item:
    uacinit.dll We will use combofix. I can tell you that you need to limit how you use the comuter until you correct the issues pointed out by the diagnostic. Please avoid resource intense games until you correct the RAM issues. When using combofix, please follow the directions carefully. Do not run other programs when you are running combofix.

    Please visit this webpage for download links, and instructions for running the tool:

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/comb...o-use-combofix

    Please ensure you read this guide carefully and install the Recovery Console first

    The Windows Recovery Console will allow you to boot up into a special recovery (repair) mode. This allows us to more easily help you should your computer have a problem after an attempted removal of malware. It is a simple procedure that will only take a few moments of your time.

    Once installed, you should see a blue screen prompt that says:

    The Recovery Console was successfully installed

    Please continue as follows:

    1) Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix, link
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic114351.html
    Remember to re-enable them afterwards.

    2) Click Yes to allow ComboFix to continue scanning for malware.

    Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while its running. That may cause it to stall

    When the tool is finished, it will produce a report for you. Post that report and a new HJT log

    A word of warning: Neither I nor sUBs are responsible for any damage you may have caused your machine by running ComboFix on your own. This tool is not a toy and not for everyday use

    Thanks
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    RAM: In adition to having a low RAM card I think one of the problems I'm having is I have too many unneeded programs loading at start up that are draining my available RAM. (Quick question: do you know what Svchost.exe is or if it's normal to have seven aplications of it running, two network service three system and two local service.)

    Defrag: One of the issues I've been having is that I can't get the windows defrag to run. Seeing how defragmented my hard drive was however I decided to download a third party defragmenter (Smart Defrag) and it seems to have done the job.

    Combofix: I tried saving the file and opening it and it did the same thing that happens when I try to open any other spyware program, I get the hourglass for a few seconds then nothing happens except Combofix.exe apears in the taskmanager. I tried running it directly from the download, and it seemed to be working until it got to the install phaze and then I got an error message saying it could not change the name of the file to Combofix[1] and so it had to shut down.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Since it's been a while and we've done quite a few things I thought I'd update my issues list.

    1. I no longer apear to seem to have the issue of going to the blue screen during start up as it has not happened in quite some time.

    2. I still ocationally get a freeze up, but it doesn't seem to be no where near as bad as it used to be.

    3. Although it had worked once, I still can not access the spybot main page so I cannot run the program.

    4. I'm still getting the the window stating the IE was improperly shut down just about every time I open it, even when I know it was properly shut down.

    5. When I do a search on yahoo or google and click on one of the links half the time it redirects me to a completly different sight than the one listed. (I could copy and past the link it takes me to on here if you think it would help)

    6. Windows defrag still isn't running.

    7. AVG is working just fine now, whatever that issues was it seems to have been solved.

    8. I was able to get Age of Empires 3 to work once after running Malwarealeart but have get the blue screen ever since.

    9. I've noticed I have multipul processes of the same type running during start up. Such as: Seven svchost.exe, ocationally two rundll32.exe, and two Iexplore.exe.

    This is all that seems to be happening off the top of my head.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •