Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Existing file advcheck.dll is read-only

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default Existing file advcheck.dll is read-only

    I got a dialog box which says:

    F:\Program Files\Spybot S&D\advcheck.dll

    The existing file is marked as read-only

    Click Retry to remove the read-only attribute and try again, Ignore to skip this file, or Abort to cancel installation.

    Which should I reply, or is this a hacker trap?

    The file is indeed read-only, in fact rhsa. 949072 bytes 2008-10-22 13:32. Properties show that Company is Safer Networking. Version is 1.6.0.0.

    Task Manager shows that Setup is running. But I didn't run it or install anything.

    Spybot is scheduled to run. I am using Win 2000 SP4.

    What should I do?

    ...chris

  2. #2
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,169

    Default

    Hi Chris Haslam,

    it seems that you didn't uninstall a previous version of Spybot completely from your compute before installing the new one.

    Try clicking retry a few times. If that isn't helpful for you, you should start your computer in safe mode and try to delete all leavings from Spybot manually before installing the new version.

    Let me know if that is helpful.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Matt,

    Thanks for replying. You have verified that the dialog box is from SS&D, and not from malware -- I am jumpy at the moment, having another computer trojaned.

    It appears that the "installation" is actually an automatic update.

    ...chris

  4. #4
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,169

    Default

    Hi Chris Haslam,

    were you able to install Spybot and ran a scan?

    If you need more help, just let me know and I'll give you some links for Malware Removal.
    Last edited by Matt; 2009-07-30 at 21:39.
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Matt,

    Today's scheduled run of SS&D ran OK. It is set to update each time it runs. So yes.

    I have, over the past few years, seen instances of a file showing rhsa attributes when it should show only a. Then, on the next boot, it would show only a. Why, I don't know. So I guess that advcheck.dll had the correct attributes on this morning's boot: I didn't get the Error dialog again.

    Thanks for asking.

    ...chris

  6. #6
    Senior Member Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bavaria
    Posts
    1,169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Haslam View Post
    Thanks for asking.
    You're welcome.

    Happy Safe Suring!
    Best regards - Beste Gre,

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •