Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 67

Thread: unable to update Vista or AVG & misdirected when searching

  1. #11
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    How to use User Account Control (UAC) in Windows Vista

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922708
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Thanks, Phil.
    I'll follow the MS link steps and see if it does the trick, then I'll post the logs tomorrow as it's getting late now.

    Rosie

  3. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Angry

    Tried Run as Administrator but again nothing happens.
    When I right click the MBAM icon & select Run as Administrator, I get a Windows message box saying "MBAM has stopped working" and i have 2 options 1) check online for a solution later and close the program
    2) Close the program

    What a nightmare!

    Rosie

  4. #14
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    Please visit this webpage for download links, and instructions for running the tool:

    Recovery Console does not install on Vista.

    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/comb...o-use-combofix

    Please ensure you read this guide carefully and install the Recovery Console first

    The Windows Recovery Console will allow you to boot up into a special recovery (repair) mode. This allows us to more easily help you should your computer have a problem after an attempted removal of malware. It is a simple procedure that will only take a few moments of your time.

    Once installed, you should see a blue screen prompt that says:

    The Recovery Console was successfully installed

    Please continue as follows:

    Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix, link
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic114351.html
    Remember to re-enable them afterwards.

    Click Yes to allow ComboFix to continue scanning for malware.

    Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while its running. That may cause it to stall

    When the tool is finished, it will produce a report for you. Post that report and a new HJT log

    A word of warning: Neither I nor sUBs are responsible for any damage you may have caused your machine by running ComboFix on your own. This tool is not a toy and not for everyday use

    Thanks
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Angry

    I've tried to connect to the links in the above post with my nephew's laptop but something is blocking all connections and I get the message "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage".

    Could I download Combofix to my laptop and burn it to a CD and try to install it that way?

    Thanks for your patience with this problem,
    Rosie

  6. #16
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    Could I download Combofix to my laptop and burn it to a CD and try to install it that way?
    Hi Rosie, yes you can, we often have to bring tools to the infected computer. I will also suggest you can use a USB Memory stick or Flash drive, but keep in mind combofix is 2.97 MB's so make sure the tool has enough space.

    I am also going to suggest, even though I realize the computer is hacked, that you may be able to reset your internet connection. Before I installed FIOS, I would have to reset DSL once in a while. If you think this can help, the proceedure Verizon had me use.

    1) Uplug and router
    2) Unplug the modem
    3) Power down the computer and wait a few minutes.
    4) Power up the router or modem if no router is user, then boot the computer. Open Internet Explorer to see if you are getting online. Here is some Microsoft information about this.

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/956196

    Hope that helps...Phil
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Question

    Thanks, Phil. I tried all you said about resetting the internet connection and the advice from the MS link. The laptop seems to be connected but all the web addresses I enter give the same message that IE cannot display the webpage.

    I'm going to try to install Combofix from a CD I've burned.
    I'm worrying about the Recovery Console - if Combofix can't connect, how will the Recovery Console work or does this not matter as it's Vista? Remember, I don't have the laptop Recovery DVD.

    Rosie

  8. #18
    In Memoriam -Always in our heart pskelley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Clearwater, Florida
    Posts
    20,252

    Default

    Recovery Console will not install with Vista, see this:
    http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...470351033.mspx
    MS-MVP Consumer Security 2007-08-09
    Proud Member ASAP
    UNITE Member 2006

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Unhappy

    Well, I tried to load Combofix from a cd but all I get is a small white rectangle with Combofix in black print and a green loading line flashing across the bottom of the rectangle.
    I assume it hasn't loaded properly.

    Shall I try again by downloading Combofix from a different link?

    Rosie

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    35

    Wink

    Further to my last post, I reinstalled it and it seems to be working! Yippee!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •