Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Updating SpyBot S&D

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Updating SpyBot S&D

    I want to use SpyBot S&D as an on demand scanner as an adjunct to my current Antivirus/Antispyware program

    So when I run the updates, can I NOT install the update for :
    the immunization data base

    and can I not allow SpyBot S&D to integrate into my browser? (if that part makes sense)

    also how do I know taht I do NOT have teatimer active?
    Last edited by O2008; 2009-08-29 at 03:01.

  2. #2
    Senior Member DougCuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    143

    Default

    If you are saying that you want "On-demand" scanning ONLY - with no resident protection - that is possible.
    During the install just un-tick the two options for "Resident IE (SDHelper)" and "Teatimer" - both are offered with tick-boxes during the install.
    Immunisation is also optional - just decline the prompt during install and do not immunise from inside the program.

    This will leave Spybot as a purely on-demand scanner if that is what you want.
    Updates for immunisation will still be offered during the Search for Updates - however it makes no difference if you download them or not - as they will not be activated unless you apply them using the immunise button on the main Spybot menu.

    You can check the immunisation status from the main Spybot menu - all should show as unprotected.

    You can check the status of the two Resident modules from inside the installed program.
    From the main menu switch on the Advanced options - select Mode and tick "Advanced Mode" option.
    From the menu running down the left of the Spybot window select Tools->Resident
    Both the resident modules should be showing as un-ticked (not active).
    You can also switch these modules on and off from this screen if you have already installed Spybot.
    Last edited by DougCuk; 2009-08-29 at 13:23.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thanks Doug C

    I think I see Resident IE (SDHelper) in a program folder.

    Should I delete it?
    ( I think my wife may have run all updates in the past with the previous version of SpyBot S&D)

  4. #4
    Senior Member DougCuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    143

    Default

    Your question is not really very clear - but assuming my previous response was answering what you wanted to know - I will continue.

    If all you want is to ensure is that SDHelper is not active - just check the " Tools->Resident" screen as per my previous post. I would not recommended deleting the file - why would you wish to do this? As long as it is inactive it would not achieve anything usefull.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •