Thread: Move Spybot to ext. harddrive?

Default Move Spybot to ext. harddrive?

I have been using Spybot S&D for a few years now and am very pleased with it. I am certainly not the most qualified in the ways of PC operation, but I have run into a problem lately. I am running out of hard drive space. I have gotten an external hard drive and put almost everything I can think of on it that I don't need on a regular basis, but still I can't even get enough hard drive space to defragment.
    It appears I have something like 776k worth of spyware signatures that Spybot takes about 20 minutes to scan and everything works fine.
    Now the question ( finally! ). Can I move Spybot S&D along with all its spyware search criteria and accessories to the external harddrive and still be able to retrieve it and have it function as effectively as I am used too? Will this make much of a dent in my lack of harddrive space issues?

Come on.... somebody out there could at least tell me if this would work or if I don't have a clue as to what I am doing. Don't worry, I keep my feeling locked away in another room. So don't worry about hurting it.

Hi dsunday,

What you are trying to do might work. If you put the whole Spybot folder into a flash drive, say, you might be able to click directly on the program .exe file and run Spybot from there. Try it and see what happens. (Note that the icon on your desktop would still be linked to the copy of Spybot that's on your main hard drive, but there's a way to change that too.)

Uninstalling Spybot from your hard drive (after copying it to the new drive) should free up about 66 MB of space, if the info shown for the Spybot folder on my own computer is any indication.

Before starting a scan off the new drive, you might also need to go into the Directories under Settings in Advanced Mode and specify where you want Spybot to scan (i.e., the C: drive).