Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Spybot Search & Destroy detected redirected hosts but wont deleted them....?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Spybot Search & Destroy detected redirected hosts but wont deleted them....?

    hello

    I have a virus on my computer and when i ran a scan on spybot search and destroy and tried to delete all redirected host it said it couldn't because it couldn't create folder C:/system32/folder/files/hosts (I forgot exactly what it said but it was something like that).
    Most of the redirected hosts were from google and another one was bing.com..basically they're all search engines.
    Does anyone know what i can do to get rid of these hosts and this virus?!

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello,

    Please delete your old host file.
    Where the hosts file is located depends on your Windows version.
    Windows 2000/XP/NT: C:\windows\system32\drivers\etc
    Windows 95/98: C:\windows\hosts

    Then download a new host file on this site:
    http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt

    Copy the whole text.
    Then create a new txt file on your desktop and name it hosts without any extensions.
    Then paste the text into it and store the file at the same place like mentioned above.
    O God! can I not save
    One from the pitiless wave?
    Is all that we see or seem
    But a dream within a dream?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default is that safe?

    hi thank you for replying....but........
    are you sure its OK to delete the host file? i mean i know your an expert but ok...anyways if i get a new host file it might come back to it?...so im just asking are you sure this will work ..please reply asap

  4. #4
    Senior Member honda12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682

    Default

    Hi Jcdteen,
    Quote Originally Posted by Jcdteen View Post
    hi thank you for replying....but........
    are you sure its OK to delete the host file?
    You can always backup your old hostfile (just rename it to 'HOSTSBACKUP' for example) before copying a new one from the link given by Spybotnorma.

    honda
    -honda12

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default ok thankyou

    ...

  6. #6
    Senior Member honda12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682

    Default

    My pleasure.
    -honda12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •