Thread: Win32.NetSky Ate Me Up Yesterday

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Win32.NetSky Ate Me Up Yesterday

Hi all...I'm David...new to the Forums here. I've been using Spy-Bot exclusively for the last 3 1/2 years without any problems until yesterday....when I was checking my Yahoo email....then all of a sudden my hard-drive was making a lot of noise for some reason.

I ALWAYS have my Task Manager open.....so I looked at that....and saw Acro32.exe running for some reason.....so I killed that....then saw a "amybdc.exe" running and killed that too. I then rebooted up in Safe Mode and did a scan with Spy-Bot....and found several things....which I then SUPPOSEDLY fixed....but after the fix....I could not log back on into Windows (I had a password protection)....and ended up re-installing Windows.

Any of the rest of you run across this...or have any thoughts?

The process you are seeing "Acro32.exe" is part of Adobe Reader 9.x. It is safe.

As for the other process, I would be concerned because the search for "amybdc.exe" had no results on Google.

What I would do to confirm the security of the machine is to visit this forums, Malware Removal Forum.
    http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=22
    -
    Start your own thread with a HJT log and be patient. Instructions and everything you need to know is in this thread:
    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=288
    -

Quote Originally Posted by drragostea View Post
    The process you are seeing "Acro32.exe" is part of Adobe Reader 9.x. It is safe.
    I think you're wrong. Acro32.exe is NOT a part of Adobe Reader 9.x.
    AcroRd32.exe is a part of Adobe Reader 9.x.
    Google results for searching "Acro32.exe" by some reason gave results of AcroRd32.exe.

Thank you Tom K. for the correction .