Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Windows 7

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default Windows 7

    I keep getting an error message from Windows 7 (bottom right hand corner of the screen, flag icon) that says that I need to fix an issue with Spybot. It goes onto say that "Spybot - Search & Destroy has stopped working properly." Any ideas how to fix it? It referred me to this site. I know I have spyware on my hard drivwe, b/c my Windows Media player won't work right sometimes. Before I got the Win 7 error message, this was a big indicator that I needed to clean the hard drive of spyware. If anyone can help, thanks.

  2. #2
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,485

    Default

    Hello druboyks,
    Quote Originally Posted by druboyks View Post
    I know I have spyware on my hard drivwe,
    Please follow the instructions in this link to produce a HJT log: "BEFORE you POST"(READ this Procedure BEFORE Requesting Assistance)

    Then start your own thread in the Malware Removal Forum where an analyst will advise you as soon as available.

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Ok, sorry...my mist.

  4. #4
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,485

    Default

    No problem, would be a good idea to let someone take a look at the system.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Actually, it's now working. Just uninstalled it and reinstalled it! One should always try the simple approach before the more complicated ones. I am pleased as punch.

  6. #6
    Member of Team Spybot tashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    30,485

    Default

    Hello druboyks

    Quote Originally Posted by druboyks View Post
    Actually, it's now working. Just uninstalled it and reinstalled it! One should always try the simple approach before the more complicated ones. I am pleased as punch.

    Quote Originally Posted by druboyks View Post
    I know I have spyware on my hard drivwe, b/c my Windows Media player won't work right sometimes. Before I got the Win 7 error message, this was a big indicator that I needed to clean the hard drive of spyware
    Have you successfully removed the infection/s?

    Best regards.
    Microsoft MVP Reconnect 2018-
    Windows Insider MVP 2016-2018
    Microsoft Consumer Security MVP 2006-2016

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tashi View Post
    Hello druboyks





    Have you successfully removed the infection/s?

    Best regards.

    Indeed the have been removed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •