Thread: Adware Report

Default Adware Report

I am a computer instructor and I was very dismayed to read a review on the following web site about Spybot S and D. I recommend this prduct to my students and now I feel as though I should tell them to uninistall this product.

http://www.adwarereport.com/mt/archives/000208.html

Product: Spybot S&D 1.4
    Price: Free
    Editor Rating: 2 stars

Click for more info

Pros
    + Free
    + Instability problems from v1.3 cleared up

Cons
    - Ineffective against most spyware
    - Infrequent updates
    - No customer support
    - Scheduler doesn’t work

Review

Spybot S&D 1.4, a freeware spyware removal tool, provides poor protection against spyware. While it is incrementally better than the previous version, it detected only 41% of our test spyware and disabled only 27% of it. While the serious instability problems of v1.3 seem to have gone away, the bottom line is this program isn't very effective at removing spyware.

Usability

After installing Spybot S&D, you are presented with a 7 step wizard. You should probably agree with most of these steps, as they are generally conducive to the proper functioning of the program (definitely scan for new updates, for instance).

The v1.4 interface is basically identical to the previous version, although the graphics have been cleaned up somewhat (Click here to see screenshots from 1.3). Although the interface isn't as flashy as some other products', Spybot correctly assumes that most people are interested in doing just one thing: removing spyware. They hide all the clutter in the “advanced mode”. We would have liked to see the scheduler added to the basic mode interface, and this remains a serious ommission in the program.

The first time we ran Spybot S&D 1.4, it failed to find anything on our heavily infested test computer. We had to reboot before the program would work properly